Harvick wins Stage 2 of Daytona 500; Kyle Busch, Earnhardt, Kenseth out

Getty Images
1 Comment

Kevin Harvick is the winner of Stage 2 of the 59th Daytona 500 Sunday at Daytona International Speedway.

Harvick earned 10 standings points for winning the stage, followed by other top-10 drivers and the points they earned: Joey Logano is second (9 points), Kurt Busch is third (8), Brad Keselowski is fourth (7) and Danica Patrick in fifth (6).

Sixth through 10th and the points they earned are: AJ Allmendinger (5), Clint Bowyer (4) Kyle Larson (3), Ryan Newman (2) and Ryan Blaney (1).

However, Stage 1 winner Kyle Busch and several other drivers are out of the race after being involved in a multi-car wreck on Lap 108 of Stage 2 (Laps 61-120).

Busch appeared to lose a rear tire, spun and collected several drivers including Toyota teammates Matt Kenseth and Erik Jones, as well as Chevrolet drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr., Elliott Sadler and Ty Dillon.

Kyle Busch, Earnhardt, Kenseth and Jones are all out of the race due to the damage to their respective race cars.

“It happened just as soon as we started picking up load into Turn 3,” Busch told Fox Sports. “I don’t know if it was the left rear or right rear that went down, but it tore up three JGR cars and Dale Jr., so I feel bad about that.

“It was nothing we did wrong. It’s frustrating we have that every single year here. … Man, you’re trying to win the Daytona 500 and that’s so disappointing.”

Earnhardt, who made his first regular season race start after missing the entire second half of last season due to a concussion, told Fox Sports: “I really enjoyed the whole week. We had a lot of fun and everybody’s support to get back to the race track meant a lot to me. I’m just sorry we weren’t able to deliver a better result for our fans and everybody that was looking forward to today. … Luckily, the hit wasn’t that bad.”

The race was red-flagged for exactly 17 minutes, according to NASCAR officials.

Stage 2 notes:

* After a late caution at the end of Stage 1, Stage 2 took the green flag and restarted on Lap 68.

* Kyle Larson took the race lead on Lap 68 after taking just two tires during pit stop, but Kevin Harvick regained the lead on Lap 70.

* Kyle Busch pitted on Lap 82 along with teammates Denny Hamlin, Daniel Suarez, Matt Kenseth and Erik Jones. Martin Truex Jr. did not pit because he was one lap down and was in position to get placed back on the lead lap if a caution occurs.

* Following the wreck that knocked out Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jones and Kenseth, Kevin Harvick took the lead when the racing resumed under green flag conditions on Lap 113.

Follow @JerryBonkowski