Multiple NASCAR drivers entered in Chili Bowl Nationals


The 31st annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals will have a bit of a NASCAR flavor this week.

Kyle Larson, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Rico Abreu are among the NASCAR drivers who will compete in the weeklong event, which concludes Saturday night. More than 370 drivers are entered in one of the nation’s premier midget car events.

The Chili Bowl Nationals, which begin today with practice, has racing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Drivers are scheduled for particular nights and seek to earn advance to Saturday night’s 55-lap feature on the quarter-mile oval at the Tulsa Expo Raceway in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Abreu, who competes in the Camping World Truck Series, is the two-time defending champion of the event. He races Wednesday night.

Larson, who finished fifth in last year’s feature, is back to compete. He races Tuesday night.

Camping World Truck driver Christopher Bell, who finished 12th in last year’s feature, also returns and will race Thursday night. Xfinity driver Justin Allgaier also races Thursday.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., who finished 16th in last year’s feature, races Friday night. Also racing Friday is J.J. Yeley.

For more information on the Chili Bowl, go to the event’s site. It features entry lists for each night, past performances, and more about the event.