Trent Owens to crew chief for Chris Buescher at JTG Daugherty Racing

Photo by Rainier Ehrhardt/Getty Images

Trent Owens will be the crew chief for Chris Buescher on JTG Daugherty Racing’s new No. 37 team this season.

Owens confirmed the news on Twitter Monday night.

This season will be JTG Daugherty’s first as a two-car team. It’s Buescher’s second full season in the Monster Energy NASCR Cup Series after driving for Front Row Motorsports in 2016.

Owens will return to the Cup Series after Richard Petty Motorsports removed him from his crew chief position on the No. 43 of Aric Almirola after 29 races in 2016. Owens served as Almirola’s crew chief from 2014-16.

Owens has one Cup win as a crew chief, with Almirola in the rain-shortened Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway in 2014.

Owens spent eight years as crew chief in the Xfinity Series, earning five wins and leading Kyle Larson to Rookie of the Year honors in 2013.