JR Motorsports not fielding Truck Series team this season

Getty Images

After a two-year venture in the Camping World Truck Series, JR Motorsports will not field a team in the series this season.

The team made it official with a tweet on Tuesday morning.

JR Motorsports primarily fielded Cole Custer from 2015-16 in the No. 00 Chevrolet. Custer made 33 starts for the team, earning one win in 2015 at Gateway Motorsports Park. JRM also fielded Kevin Harvick, Kyle Larson, Alex Bowman, Jeb Burton and Kasey Kahne in one race each. Kahne gave the team its only other win, at Charlotte Motor Speedway in 2015.

JRM will devote its full attention to the Xfinity Series, where it will field five cars in 2017, including full-time rides for Elliott Sadler, Justin Allgaier, Michael Annett and William Byron. The fifth car will feature Dale Earnhardt Jr. and other drivers.

Custer will compete in his rookie Xfinity season with Stewart-Haas Racing, which is racing in the Xfinity Series for the first time.