Kyle Busch wins pole for Phoenix Xfinity race

Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images
1 Comment

AVONDALE, Ariz. – Kyle Busch  won the pole for tonight’s Xfinity Series race at Phoenix International Raceway with a lap of 136.132 mph. It is Busch’s ninth pole this season.

Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Erik Jones will start second after a lap of 135.936 mph. Ryan Reed (135.049 mph) is third, Blake Koch (135.034) is fourth and Darrell Wallace Jr. (134.791) is fifth.

Tonight’s race will set the four-driver lineup for next weekend’s championship round in Miami. None of the eight drivers still eligible for the title has clinched a spot.

Here is where the Chase contenders will start:

Erik Jones – 2nd

Ryan Reed – 3rd

Blake Koch – 4th

Darrell Wallace Jr. – 5th

Daniel Suarez – 6th

Justin Allgaier – 9th

Elliott Sadler – 10th

Brendan Gaughan – 25th

Click here for Xfinity starting lineup