JR Motorsports expanding to four teams in 2017, adds Michael Annett

Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images

JR Motorsports announced Friday that it will field four full-time Xfinity teams in 2017 with Michael Annett signing a multi-year agreement. Pilot Flying J will be Annett’s sponsor and also has signed a multi-year agreement.

Annett will drive the No. 5 for the team next season. JR Motorsports also will field teams for Elliott Sadler, Justin Allgaier and William Byron. JR Motorsports will run a fifth car, the No. 88, in select races with Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Kasey Kahne.

“To expand our presence in the NASCAR Xfinity Series truly shows the commitment JRM and our sponsors have made to the series,” Kelly Earnhardt Miller, co-owner and general manger of JR Motorsports, said in a team release.“By partnering with Pilot Flying J, all the pieces are in place to run four competitive, full-time cars for a championship next year. We’re confident this will make our organization even stronger.”

Annett has spent the past three seasons in the Sprint Cup Series. He’s racing this season for HScott Motorsports.

Annett’s departure means that HScott Motorsports has no teams returning for next season at this point. Clint Bowyer will leave at the end of this season to replace Tony Stewart at Stewart-Haas Racing.