Sprint Cup drivers long for Indianapolis short track race

Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

Former NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Matt Kenseth doesn’t tweet much, but when he does, he often has something to say.

During Saturday’s Xfinity race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Kenseth posted just his fourth tweet in the last three weeks. He lamented that the Xfinity Series does not race at Lucas Oil Raceway, formerly known as Indianapolis Raceway Park (IRP).

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and Chase Elliott quickly showed they agreed with Kenseth.

The Xfinity Series raced there from 1992-2011 before the event was moved to Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The last Xfinity race there was won by Brad Keselowski. Other former winners there include Kyle Busch, Carl Edwards, Kevin Harvick, Martin Truex Jr., Greg Biffle, Brian Vickers, Ron Hornaday Jr., Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Bobby Labonte. Morgan Shepherd won the first Xfinity race there in 1982.