Kyle Busch dominates for Xfinity Series win at Indianapolis

Robert Laberge/Getty Images

Kyle Busch scored his 83rd Xfinity Series win Saturday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in dominating fashion. He led 62 of 63 laps in the Lilly Diabetes 250 after starting on the pole and holding off Kevin Harvick in overtime.

The victory was the third straight for Busch in the Xfinity Series and his second consecutive at Indianapolis. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver also will start on the pole in Sunday’s Sprint Cup Series race, which he won last season.

MORE: results and statistics from the Lilly Diabetes 250

MORE: Daniel Suarez remains point leader after Indianapolis

Kevin Harvick finished second with Paul Menard third, Kyle Larson fourth and Justin Allgaier fifth. Allgaier was the highest-finishing Xfinity Series driver and took home the $100,000 Dash 4 Cash bonus.

“This NOS energy drink Camry was awesome today; it was really, really fast,” Busch told NBCSN in victory lane. “(Crew chief) Chris Gayle and all these guys deserve this win at the Brickyard. It’s a pretty awesome feeling to be able to go back to victory lane this year and hopefully, with sitting on the pole for tomorrow, we can have another sweep here.”

HOW BUSCH WON: Busch drove away from Kevin Harvick and Kyle Larson on a restart with two laps to go.

WHO ELSE HAD A GOOD RACE: Paul Menard picked up his fourth top-10 finish in his fifth Xfinity Series start of the season … JR Motorsports placed all three cars in the top 10 with Kevin Harvick finishing second, Justin Allgaier fifth and Elliott Sadler sixth … Jeb Burton finished 12th in his first Xfinity race since Charlotte in May and his first with Biagi DenBeste Racing

WHO HAD A BAD RACE: Erik Jones had been running inside the top three when he hit the wall off Turn 2 and had to make an unscheduled pit stop. Jones later spun in Turn 1 and finished 22nd … Brennan Poole finished 11th after sitting fourth on the second to last restart … With a 14th-place finish, Darrell Wallace Jr. has placed outside the top 10 in three of the last four races

NOTABLE: With his win on Saturday, Kyle Busch holds an average finish of 1.5 in 2016 with seven wins in 11 starts. Joe Gibbs Racing has three wins at Indianapolis, which is the most of any organization.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “Man, stinks to lose $100,000 like that on the last lap.” — Elliott Sadler after being passed by teammate Justin Allgaier, who won the Xfinity Dash 4 Cash bonus.

WHAT’S NEXT: The Xfinity Series returns to Iowa Speedway for the second time in the U.S. Cellular 250 on July 30 at 8 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Follow @KellyCrandall

Starting lineup for Talladega Cup race: Christopher Bell wins pole


Six playoff drivers will start in the top 10 for Sunday’s 500-mile NASCAR Cup Series playoff race at Talladega Superspeedway.

Christopher Bell won the pole for the race Saturday with a speed of 180.591 miles per hour. He was followed by Kyle Larson, Denny Hamlin, Aric Almirola and Chase Briscoe.

MORE: Talladega Cup starting lineup

MORE: Talladega Cup qualifying results

Playoff drivers starting in the top 10 are Bell, Larson, Hamlin, Briscoe, Ross Chastain (sixth) and William Byron (ninth).

Noah Gragson, who qualified seventh, is replacing Alex Bowman, who is sitting out the race with concussion-like symptoms.

Ryan Blaney, starting 19th, is the lowest playoff driver on the starting grid.


Christopher Bell wins Cup Series pole at Talladega Superspeedway


Playoff driver Christopher Bell won the pole position Saturday for Sunday’s 500-mile NASCAR Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway in Alabama.

Bell, 11th in the playoff standings and below the cutline entering Sunday’s race, ran 180.591 mph to edge second-place Kyle Larson at 180.516.

Playoff drivers took six of the top-10 starting spots.

MORE: Talladega Cup qualifying results

The race is the second in the second round of the playoffs. Any playoff driver who wins the race will automatically advance to the next round.

Joey Logano leads the playoff standings.

Noah Gragson, replacing Alex Bowman, who is sitting out the race with concussion-like symptoms, qualified seventh.

The race (2 p.m., ET) will be broadcast by NBC.



Sunday Talladega Cup race: Start time, TV info, weather


Sunday will mark a difficult crossroads for NASCAR. As several of its top drivers express serious concerns about safety, the Cup Series is at Talladega Superspeedway, the circuit’s biggest track and site of many massive wrecks over its 53 years of existence.

Adding to the tension is the fact that Sunday’s 188-lap, 500-mile race is the middle event in the second round of the playoffs. With a win automatically advancing any of the 12 playoff drivers to the next round, the final laps are likely to be frantic.

Sunday’s race (2 p.m. ET, NBC) will begin with Joey Logano atop the playoff point standings. Following him in the top eight are Ross Chastain, Kyle Larson, Ryan Blaney, Denny Hamlin, Daniel Suarez, Chase Elliott and Chase Briscoe.

Below the cutline are Austin Cindric, William Byron, Christopher Bell and Alex Bowman. Byron fell below the line this week when NASCAR penalized him for bumping Hamlin under caution during last Sunday’s race at Texas Motor Speedway. Hendrick Motorsports has appealed the penalty.

Bowman will miss Sunday’s race because of concussion-like symptoms he has experienced after a crash at Texas. Noah Gragson will replace him.

Bell won the pole Saturday with a speed of 180.591 mph.

Details for Sunday’s race:

START: The command to start engines will be given by Jimmy Rane, president of Great Southern Wood Preserving, at 1:52 p.m. (ET). … Green flag is scheduled to wave at 2:04 p.m.

PRERACE: Cup garage opens at 11 a.m. … Driver introductions are at 1:15 p.m. … The invocation will be given by Barbara Embry, chaplin of Citizens Baptist Medical Center, at 1:43 p.m. … The national anthem will be performed by the 313th U.S. Army Band at 1:45 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 188 laps (500 miles) on the 2.66-mile speedway.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends at Lap 60. Stage 2 ends at Lap 120.

STARTING LINEUP: Talladega Cup starting lineup

TV/RADIO: NBC will broadcast the race at 2 p.m. Countdown to Green begins at 1 p.m. … Motor Racing Network coverage begins at 1 p.m. … SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the MRN broadcast.


FORECAST: Weather Underground — Mainly sunny. High of 78. 5% chance of rain.

LAST TIME: Bubba Wallace won last October’s race, which was shortened to 117 laps by rain. Brad Keselowski was second.


Could in-car cameras change NASCAR officiating?

Wide-open Talladega could produce 20th different seasonal winner

Alex Bowman sitting out Talladega because of concussion-like symptoms

Dr. Diandra: Is Talladega really a playoff wildcard?


Saturday NASCAR schedule at Talladega Superspeedway


Both the Xfinity Series and Camping World Truck Series will race Saturday at Talladega Superspeedway.

Cup cars will start the day’s action by qualifying for Sunday’s playoff race, followed by the Truck playoff race and then the Xfinity playoff race.

Talladega Superspeedway (Cup, Xfinity and Truck)

Weekend weather

Saturday: Sunny. High of 78.

Saturday, Oct. 1

(All times Eastern)

Garage open

  • 8:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. — Cup Series
  • 9:30 a.m. — Truck Series
  • 1 p.m. — Xfinity Series

Track activity

  • 10:30 a.m. – Noon — Cup Series qualifying (NBC Sports app, Motor Racing Network, Sirius XM NASCAR Radio)
  • 12:30 p.m. — Truck Series race (94 laps, 250 miles; FS1, Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)
  • 4 p.m. — Xfinity Series race (113 laps, 300 miles; USA Network, Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)