Winless drivers have 10 more chances to make playoffs with a victory


With 10 races left before the 16-team playoff field is set, Sprint Cup teams without a victory are beginning to run out of chances to earn a Chase spot with a win.

There have been 11 different winners this season. Tony Stewart became the 11th last weekend at Sonoma but he’s yet to climb into the top 30 in points. Stewart is nine points out and expected to secure a top-30 spot soon and that will put him in a spot to make the Chase.

Of the drivers still seeking a win this season, several have victories at upcoming tracks in their career. Here’s who those drivers are and where they’ve won:

Daytona: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jamie McMurray, Trevor Bayne, Greg Biffle, Ryan Newman, David Ragan, Aric Almirola

Kentucky: None

New Hampshire: Ryan Newman, Clint Bowyer, Greg Biffle, Kasey Kahne

Indianapolis: Jamie McMurray, Paul Menard, Ryan Newman

Pocono: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kasey Kahne, Greg Biffle, Ryan Newman

Watkins Glen: AJ Allmendinger

Bristol: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kasey Kahne

Michigan: Greg Biffle, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Ryan Newman, Kasey Kahne

Darlington: Greg Biffle, Regan Smith

Richmond: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Clint Bowyer, Kasey Kahne, Ryan Newman