Daytona once again will honor Congressional Medal of Honor recipients

(Getty Images)

Daytona International Speedway announced Thursday that it once again will honor several Congressional Medal of Honor recipients during the upcoming Coke Zero 400 weekend (June 30-July 2).

The track will honor Captain Florent Groberg, U.S. Army (Afghanistan); Staff Sergeant Ty Carter, U.S. Army (Afghanistan) and Command Sergeant Major Gary Littrell, U.S. Army (Vietnam).

The three recipients will be treated to a luncheon, attend driver meetings and take part in prerace festivities for the Subway Firecracker 250 and the Coke Zero 400.

This is the eighth consecutive year that DIS has honored Medal of Honor recipients. The practice originally began in the 1970s by NASCAR founder Bill France Sr.

“We are privileged to have these three Congressional Medal of Honor recipients with us this Independence Day holiday weekend,” said Daytona International Speedway President Chip Wile. “It is an honor to share their stories of courage and selflessness and have the opportunity to thank them for their service to our country.”

More information on the recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor may be found at