Daytona 500 entry list features 44 Sprint Cup teams

(Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images)

While there is no Jeff Gordon (retired) and no Tony Stewart (injured), there are 44 entries for next week’s Daytona 500.

Qualifying is Sunday. That will set the front row for the Daytona 500 and the lineup for the qualifying races on Thursday. With 36 guaranteed spots, eight drivers will vie for the four spots left for non-chartered teams. Those drivers are: Ryan Blaney, Robert Richardson Jr., Josh Wise, David Gilliland, Reed Sorenson, Michael McDowell, Matt DiBenedetto and Cole Whitt.

Daytona 500 entry list 2016