Dale Earnhardt Jr. on board with Chase format for Xfinity, Camping World Truck Series

Getty Images

Dale Earnhardt Jr., whose JR Motorsports team competes in the Xfinity and Camping World Truck Series, says it would be a “great idea” to have a Chase format determine the champion in those series.

NASCAR Chairman Brian France said last month at Homestead that Xfinity and Camping World “would like us to explore … their own version” of a Chase format for 2016.

Both series determine their champion based on points accumulated all season. The Sprint Cup Chase format determines the champion in an elimination-style format in the last 10 races that culminates with four drivers racing for the title in a winner-take-all event.

“I think it’s a great idea to infuse some Chase-style atmosphere into the two series,” Earnhardt said last weekend in Las Vegas at the Sprint Cup Awards. “It’s done a lot for our series. It’s done a lot for the excitement of the sport.”

Earnhardt understands those who don’t want to see change.

“We’ve had some great championship battles without it,” he said of a Chase format in those series. “It’s a great format to begin with that we’ve had for the last 50 years, but it’s a new world, a new norm and people are really excited with what is happening in the Cup side. It makes sense that they would be interested and intrigued to try it on the other levels. I think it’s a good step in the right direction to infuse a little more excitement and get a little more eyeballs on the series, particularly at that point in the season.”

The past two years, the winner of the Cup season finale at Homestead also won the championship. That type of excitement was not prevalent in the other two series.

Chris Buescher needed to finish 13th or better to claim the Xfinity title this year. He finished 11th. Chase Elliott was so far ahead of the field that he clinched the 2014 title at Phoenix, a week before the season finale.

Erik Jones needed to finish 15th or better to win the Truck crown this year. He finished sixth. Matt Crafton needed only to finish 21st or better to win the title last year. He placed ninth.