Kyle Larson wins Xfinity finale as Chris Buescher claims series title

1 Comment

Kyle Larson is known for riding the outside wall.

Austin Dillon is not.

The difference showed with five laps left in the Ford EcoBoost 300 as Dillon, who had led since Lap 180, hit the wall in Turn 4.

Larson took advantage of the miscue by Dillon to win his third career Xfinity Series race.

“I walked up to him in victory lane, and I said, ‘Teach me how to get around the top,’ ” Dillon said. “Obviously I need to change my line around, so maybe I can talk to him and figure something out. He’s very good at finding that edge up there.”

Chris Buescher finished 11th to clinch the Xfinity Series championship for his first NASCAR title. It is Roush Fenway Racing’s first Xfinity title since 2012.

MORE: final points standings

MORE: race results

WHY KYLE LARSON WON: Larson overtook Austin Dillon after he made contact with the wall in Turn 4 with five laps to go and kept Dillon behind.

WHO HAD A GOOD DAY: Chris Buescher, the 2015 Xfinity Series champion ran a steady race and did what he had to win the crown … Austin Dillon started third but didn’t lead until the final 25 laps. Then he settled for second after hitting the wall as he fended off Larson … Daniel Suarez was penalized for an uncontrolled tire during the first round of green flag stops. The Joe Gibbs Racing rookie bounced back to finish sixth to secure rookie of the year honors.

WHO HAD A BAD DAY: The No. 74 of Tim Viens brought out the first caution of the day when he spun after skimming off the No. 42 of Kyle Larson. Viens, in his first Xfinity start, wouldn’t finish the race. Team owner Mike Harmon would replace him and finish 33rd … JR Motorsports’ Ben Rhodes had to pit just after Lap 65 after he hit the wall and cut a tire. Rhodes finished 20th, two laps down in his final race with JRM … Kyle Busch was having a good day until an uncontrolled tire penalty with less than 25 laps left sent him to the back of the field where he crashed while avoiding a car on a Lap 21 restart.

QUOTE OF THE DAY: “This is Championship week. It’s all about the champions.” – Kyle Larson on why he didn’t do a burnout to celebrate his win.

NOTABLE: Team Penske won the owner’s championship for the third year in a row …  Daniel Suarez won rookie of the year honors … At one point there were only four cars on the lead lap … None of Kyle Larson’s four NASCAR wins have been in races in which Larson was eligible for points.

Daytona road course trophy: Handle with care

Leave a comment

A word of warning for the Cup Series driver who wins Sunday’s inaugural race on the Daytona road course (3 p.m. ET on NBC).

When you’re celebrating the victory, don’t get too excited with the trophy.

It could wind up all over Victory Lane.

That’s because the trophy waiting at the end of the 65-lap/234.65-mile-race is made out of glass.

More: Will chaos (and rain) reign on the Daytona road course?


The 18” tall/4.5” wide trophy for the Daytona road course race was produced by the Corning Museum of Glass in Corning, New York. It’s the same institution that’s been responsible for designing the Watkins Glen International trophy since 2012.

Sunday’s race is being held in the place of the Cup Series’ annual visit to Watkins Glen.

Incorporating a blown glass cup, the trophy is inspired by the history of NASCAR and racing at Daytona.

“Thinking about the history of the track and long-held traditions, I was reminded that historically, trophies used to be cups and have evolved into sculptural forms,” said Eric Meek, Sr. Manager of Hot Glass Programs at The Corning Museum of Glass, said in a media release. “We took this trophy back to a more traditional shape. Daytona is the most historical track, and in thinking about a trophy design for a race held in this storied location, I was transported back to the golden age of speed. I wanted to design something that felt like a bit of a throwback – like it belonged in the era of streamline racers and the quest to go faster.”

NASCAR Pinty’s Series 2020 TV schedule released

Leave a comment

The NASCAR Pinty’s Series, which competes in Canada, will get its season under way this weekend after it was postponed back in April due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The shortened season will consist of three doubleheaders with twin 125-mile races.

The races will be held at Sunset Speedway (Aug. 15), Flamboro Speedway (Aug. 29) and Jukasa Speedway (Sept. 12).

More: Xfinity Series start time for Daytona road course

No NASCAR Pinty’s Series champion or Rookie of the Year will be crowned in 2020 due to the shortened schedule. There will be special recognition for the overall winner of the shortened season.

All races will air delayed on TSN and RDS in Canada and MAVTV in the United States. Fans in the United States can stream races after they air on TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold.

Here is the full schedule with TV information.


Saturday’s Xfinity race at Daytona road course: Start time, forecast and more

Leave a comment

Saturday’s Xfinity race at Daytona will mark the first time the series has competed in the track’s road course circuit.

Austin Cindric, who has won four of the last five races, is on the pole. He is joined on the front row by fellow Ford driver Chase Briscoe.

Here are the details for the Xfinity race at the Daytona road course (all times ET):

START: The command to start engines will be given at 3:07 p.m by Dr. Jeff Jarvis, president of UNOH. The green flag is scheduled to wave at 3:19 p.m.

PRERACE: Garage access health screening begins at 8:30 a.m. Drivers report to their cars at 2:50 p.m. The invocation will be given at 3 p.m. by Chaplain Farzad Nourian. The national anthem will be performed at 3:01 p.m. by Temecula Road.

DISTANCE: The race is 52 laps (187.72 miles) around the 3.61-mile road course

PACE LAP: At the direction of race control, the entire field will go down pit road during a pace lap for pit road speed verification. If a driver stops in the pit box for any reason, pulls over or slows down, they will start at the rear of the field.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 15. Stage 2 ends on Lap 30.

TV/RADIO: NBCSN will televise the race. Its coverage begins at 2:30 p.m. with Countdown to Green followed by the race broadcast at 3 p.m. ET. Motor Racing Network’s radio broadcast will begin at 2:30 p.m. and also can be heard at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry MRN’s broadcast.

STREAMING: Watch the race on the NBC Sports App by clicking here.

FORECAST: The forecast calls for cloudy skies, a high of 88 degrees and a 70% chance of rain and thunderstorms at the start of the race.

LAST RACE: Austin Cindric beat AJ Allmendinger and Chase Briscoe to win at Road America.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for Xfinity starting lineup

Justin Marks planning to start new Cup team

Leave a comment

Former NASCAR driver Justin Marks is in the process of starting a new Cup Series team and competing as early as 2021, Marks detailed to the Sports Business Journal.

Marks, who has 80 NASCAR starts and last competed in 2018, is building a team called Trackhouse that would have a “cause-marketing focus around promoting STEM education” according to SBJ.

More: Bubba Wallace lands multi-year deal with DoorDash

Marks, who once was a co-owner of an ARCA Menards West team with the late Harry Scott, said a goal of the team is to “serve America’s minorities and underrepresented youth population”

Marks told SBJ he is in negotiations to acquire a charter for the team, that his family foundation will use investment capital to fund 50% of the team’s budget and that a “nationwide family entertainment business” will be a sponsor.

One of Marks’ partners will be Ty Norris, a former executive at Michael Waltrip Racing.

Click here for more from Sports Business Journal.