NMPA Sprint Most Popular Driver voting begins Sunday


The National Press Motorsports Association and Sprint announced that voting for the NMPA Sprint Most Popular Driver Award will begin at 12:01 a.m. ET Sunday and run through 11:59 p.m. ET Nov. 22.

Voting is limited to one vote per person per email address per day. Fans can go to http://www.mostpopulardriver.com to cast their vote. Votes also will be received via the NASCAR Mobile application.

Eligible drivers are those who have declared to compete for the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup championship. The winner will be announced during the NBCSN broadcast of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Awards on Dec. 4 at Las Vegas. A $10,000 donation will be made to the winning driver’s charity of choice.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won the award each of the past 12 years. Bill Elliott won the award a record 16 times.

Only three drivers have won the award since 1991. Elliott won it from 1991 – 2000. Dale Earnhardt Sr. won it posthumously in 2001. Elliott won the title in 2002. Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won it every year since 2003.

The award will be presented the week of the Sprint Cup banquet in Las Vegas.