Most Popular Driver Award to return; Voting details to be announced Sept. 6


Sprint will return as sponsor of the National Motorsports Press Association’s Most Popular Driver award.

Details about the voting window will be announced Sept. 6 at Darlington Raceway during the Southern 500 weekend.

This is the 63rd season for the award. Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won the award 12 consecutive years. There were 776,000 votes cast during last year’s 19-week voting window.