Dale Earnhardt Jr. leads first Sprint Cup practice at Daytona


The Sprint Cup Series’ first practice for the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway was led by Dale Earnhardt Jr., who put up a best speed of 202.284 mph during his 19 laps on the 2.5-mile track.

Earnhardt was followed by Austin Dillon (202.066), Clint Bowyer (201.993), Paul Menard (201.970) and Trevor Bayne (201.875).

The practice was stopped nine minutes into the session by a nine-car accident including Kyle Busch, Brad Keselowski, Greg Biffle and Ryan Newman. The crash caused many teams to go to their back up cars.

Speed chart: