Eight of last 10 Sonoma winners fastest in Friday’s final practice


It was like a reunion of past winners in Friday’s second and final practice for Sunday’s Toyota/SaveMart 350 at Sonoma Raceway.

There has been a different winner in each of the last 10 races at Sonoma, and eight of those were among the 10-fastest drivers in the second practice session.

Kyle Busch, who won in 2008, was fastest with a top speed of 96.175 mph.

Defending champ Carl Edwards was second-fastest (96.030), followed by 2011 winner Kurt Busch (95.992), 2012 winner Clint Bowyer (95.942), 2013 winner Martin Truex Jr. (95.840), 2006 winner Jeff Gordon (95.750) and 2009 winner Kasey Kahne (95.655) was seventh-fastest.

Jimmie Johnson, who won in 2010, was 10th-fastest (95.319), preceded by two drivers seeking their first career wins at Sonoma: Sam Hornish Jr. (8th fastest at 95.524 mph) and Michael McDowell (9th fastest at 95.452 mph).

Qualifying takes place at the 1.99-mile, 12-turn track on Saturday afternoon at 2:15 pm ET.

Here’s how the final practice session played out:

source:  source:

Follow @JerryBonkowski