Matt Kenseth will start on the pole position for the second time at Bristol Motor Speedway


BRISTOL, Tenn. – Matt Kenseth captured the second Sprint Cup pole position of his career at Bristol Motor Speedway, posting a lap at 128.632 mph Friday in his No. 20 Toyota.

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver, who won at Bristol when he started first in August 2005, will begin the Food City 500 in Support of Steve Byrnes alongside Brad Keselowski (128.442) in the front row.

Carl Edwards, Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Joey Logano, Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne, Paul Menard, Jamie McMurray, David Ragan and Austin Dillon rounded out the top 12 qualifiers.

Kahne was the only Hendrick Motorsports driver to reach the final round as teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr. (13th) just missed advancing along with the Hendrick-powered Chevrolets of Kyle Larson and Justin Allgaier. Jeff Gordon was worst among the Hendrick drivers, qualifying 23rd.

Landon Cassill qualified 17th, tying a season best, and Michael McDowell (19th) and Matt DiBenedetto (22nd) will start from their highest positions this season.

Among the notables who failed to advance from the first round of qualifying were Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (25th), Danica Patrick (26th), Jimmie Johnson (28th), Greg Biffle (33rd), Clint Bowyer (37th) and Sam Hornish Jr. (39th).

Qualifying results:

1 Matt Kenseth … 128.632 mph
2 Brad Keselowski … 128.442
3 Carl Edwards … 128.332
4 Kevin Harvick … 128.211
5 Denny Hamlin … 127.419
6 Joey Logano … 127.317
7 Kurt Busch … 126.871
8 Kasey Kahne … 126.829
9 Paul Menard … 126.829
10 Jamie McMurray … 126.612
11 David Ragan … 126.436
12 Austin Dillon … 126.262
13 Dale Earnhardt Jr. … 127.081
14 Kyle Larson … 127.073
15 Justin Allgaier … 126.562
16 Martin Truex Jr. … 126.503
17 Landon Cassill … 126.428
18 Ryan Newman … 126.088
19 Michael McDowell … 125.947
20 A.J. Allmendinger … 125.939
21 Tony Stewart … 125.831
22 Matt DiBenedetto … 125.798
23 Jeff Gordon … 125.609
24 Brett Moffitt … 125.199
25 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. … 126.378
26 Danica Patrick … 126.328
27 Casey Mears … 126.303
28 Jimmie Johnson … 126.146
29 JJ Yeley … 126.046
30 Aric Almirola … 125.823
31 Trevor Bayne … 125.798
32 David Gilliland … 125.625
33 Greg Biffle … 125.551
34 Jeb Burton … 125.510
35 Josh Wise … 125.453
36 Michael Annett … 125.158
37 Clint Bowyer … Owner Points
38 Chris Buescher … Owner Points
39 Sam Hornish Jr. … Owner Points
40 Alex Bowman … Owner Points
41 Mike Bliss … Owner Points
42 Cole Whitt … 191.367
43 Alex Kennedy … Owner Points

Did not qualify: Brendan Gaughan, Ron Hornaday Jr.

Follow @nateryan

Saturday NASCAR schedule at Talladega Superspeedway


Both the Xfinity Series and Camping World Truck Series will race Saturday at Talladega Superspeedway.

Cup cars will start the day’s action by qualifying for Sunday’s playoff race, followed by the Truck playoff race and then the Xfinity playoff race.

Talladega Superspeedway (Cup, Xfinity and Truck)

Weekend weather

Saturday: Sunny. High of 78.

Saturday, Oct. 1

(All times Eastern)

Garage open

  • 8:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. — Cup Series
  • 9:30 a.m. — Truck Series
  • 1 p.m. — Xfinity Series

Track activity

  • 10:30 a.m. – Noon — Cup Series qualifying (NBC Sports app, Motor Racing Network, Sirius XM NASCAR Radio)
  • 12:30 p.m. — Truck Series race (94 laps, 250 miles; FS1, Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)
  • 4 p.m. — Xfinity Series race (113 laps, 300 miles; USA Network, Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)

Talladega Xfinity starting lineup: Austin Hill wins pole


TALLADEGA, Ala. — Austin Hill will lead the field to the green flag Saturday at Talladega Superspeedway after scoring his first career Xfinity Series pole.

Hill won the pole Friday with a lap of 182.036 mph. He will be joined on the front row by fellow playoff contender Ty Gibbs (181.981 mph).

MORE: Talladega Xfinity starting lineup

Playoff drivers will start in seven of the top eight spots. The exception is Sheldon Creed, who will start third after a lap of 181.870 mph. Hill and Creed give Richard Childress Racing the first and third starting spots.

Justin Allgaier (181.529) qualified fourth and Brandon Jones (181.305) completed the top five. Noah Gragson, who has won four races in a row, starts sixth after a lap of 181.134 mph and is followed by playoff drivers Josh Berry (181.052) and AJ Allmendinger (180.932).

The Xfinity Series race is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET Saturday on USA Network.

Talladega Truck starting lineup: John Hunter Nemechek wins pole


TALLADEGA, Ala. — John Hunter Nemechek will start on the pole for Saturday’s Camping World Truck Series race.

Nemechek earned the pole with a lap of 178.767 mph.

Nemechek is one of four playoff drivers starting in the top six: Chandler Smith (second, 177.732 mph), Zane Smith (fourth, 177.061) and Ty Majeski (sixth, 176.744). Majeski clinched a spot in next month’s championship race at Phoenix with his Bristol win.

MORE: Talladega Truck starting lineup

Also qualifying in the top five were Carson Hocevar (177.068) in third and Matt Crafton (176.960) in fifth.

Failing to qualify are Tim Viens, Spencer Boyd, Jason White and Natalie Decker.

Saturday Talladega Xfinity race: Start time, TV info, weather


The second race of the opening round of the Xfinity playoffs takes drivers to Talladega Superspeedway.

Noah Gragson secured his spot in the next round by winning last weekend at Texas. Ryan Sieg holds the final transfer spot. Riley Herbst is the first driver below the cutline, one point behind Sieg. Also below the cutline are reigning series champion Daniel Hemric (-8 points), Brandon Jones (-12) and Jeremy Clements (-28).

Details for Saturday’s Xfinity race at Talladega Superspeedway

(All times Eastern)

START: The command to start engines will be given at 4:09 p.m. … Green flag is scheduled to wave at 4:21 p.m.

PRERACE: Xfinity garage opens at 1 p.m. … Driver introductions are at 3:30 p.m. … The invocation will be given at 4 p.m. … The Brookwood High School choir will perform the anthem at 4:02 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 113 laps (300.58 miles) on the 2.66-mile speedway.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends at Lap 25. Stage 2 ends at Lap 50.

TV/RADIO: USA Network will broadcast the race at 4 p.m. Countdown to Green begins at 3:30 p.m. on USA Network. … Motor Racing Network coverage begins at 3:30 p.m. and also will stream at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the MRN broadcast.


FORECAST: Weather Underground — Sunny with a high of 78 degrees and no chance of rain at the start of the race.

LAST TIME: Noah Gragson won and was followed by Jeffrey Earnhardt and AJ Allmendinger.