Joey Logano dominates en route to Xfinity Series win in Phoenix


It was domination in the desert, as Joey Logano ran away with Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Phoenix International Raceway.

Logano, who started on the pole, led 176 of the 200 laps. He became the fourth winner in the four Xfinity Series races this season.

“It’s one of those days that if you don’t win, you’d be really frustrated because you had the winning car all day,” Logano told Fox Sports.

Piloting the No. 22 Discount Tire Ford Mustang, Logano recorded his first Xfinity Series win since Sept. 28, 2013, breaking a 13-race winless streak.

The Team Penske driver entered with runner-up finishes in his last four Xfinity races, dating to last summer at Atlanta.

Matt Kenseth (led 14 laps) was second. Kevin Harvick, who did not lead a lap, was third. Austin Dillon was fourth. Erik Jones finished fifth, his first top five in the series.

“I thought we had a car that could have won, I just couldn’t get there and couldn’t get it done,” Kenseth said.

Ty Dillon is first in the Xfinity standings with a 14-point lead over Chris Buescher, a 22-point edge over Ryan Reed and a 25-point margin over reigning series champion Chase Elliott and Darrell Wallace Jr.


1 Joey Logano (led 176 laps)
2 Matt Kenseth (led 14 laps)
3 Kevin Harvick
4 Austin Dillon (led 4 laps)
5 Erik Jones
6 Ty Dillon
7 Chase Elliott
8 Brendan Gaughan
9 Regan Smith
10 Brian Scott
11 Daniel Suarez
12 Elliott Sadler
13 Ryan Reed
14 Chris Buescher
15 Darrell Wallace Jr.
16 Jeremy Clements
17 Ryan Sieg
18 Dakoda Armstrong
19 Dylan Lupton
20 Mike Bliss
21 David Starr
22 Cale Conley
23 Harrison Rhodes
24 JJ Yeley
25 Blake Koch
26 Brennan Poole (led 6 laps)
27 Ross Chastain
28 Jamie Dick
29 Eric McClure
30 Charles Lewandowski
31 Joey Gase
32 Carl Long
33 Derrike Cope
34 Enrique Contreras
35 Mike Harmon
36 Peyton Sellers
37 Landon Cassill
38 Mario Gosselin
39 Derek White
40 Jeff Green

Average Speed:
 109.141 MPH
Time of Race: 1 Hrs, 49 Mins, 57 Secs.
Cautions: 4 for 26 laps
Margin of Victory: 0.293 Seconds
Lead Changes: 7 among 4 drivers

Follow @JerryBonkowski

COTA Cup starting lineup


Hendrick Motorsports driver William Byron, who has won two of the first five races of the season, will lead the Cup field to the green flag Sunday at Circuit of the Americas.

Byron will be joined on the front row of the starting lineup by Tyler Reddick, the only driver to win multiple races at road courses last year.

MORE: COTA Cup starting lineup

Austin Cindric starts third and is joined in the second row by Jordan Taylor, who is filling in for the injured Chase Elliott in the No. 9 Hendrick car.

Taylor’s performance is the best qualifying effort by a driver making their Cup debut since Boris Said started second in his Cup debut at Watkins Glen in 1999.

William Byron wins Cup pole at COTA


William Byron will start on the pole for Sunday’s Cup race at Circuit of the Americas.

Byron won the pole with a lap of 93.882 mph around the 3.41-mile road course Saturday. He becomes the first Cup driver to win a pole at four different road courses: Charlotte Roval (2019), Road America (2021), Indianapolis road course (2021) and COTA (2023).

MORE: COTA Cup starting lineup

Byron will be joined on the front row by Tyler Reddick, who had posted the fastest lap in Friday’s practice and fastest lap in the opening round of qualifying Saturday. Reddick qualified at 93.783 mph.

Austin Cindric (93.459 mph) qualified third. Former IMSA champion Jordan Taylor, substituting for an injured Chase Elliott in the No. 9 car for Hendrick Motorsports, qualified fourth with a lap of 93.174 mph. AJ Allmendinger (93.067) will start fifth.

Taylor’s performance is the best qualifying effort by a driver making their Cup debut since Boris Said started second in his Cup debut at Watkins Glen in 1999.

Ross Chastain, who won this event a year ago, qualified 12th. Former world champion Kimi Raikkonen qualified 22nd, former world champion Jenson Button qualified 24th, seven-time Cup champion Jimmie Johnson qualified 31st and IndyCar driver Conor Daly qualified 35th.

Sunday Cup race at Circuit of the Americas: Start time, TV info, weather


Is this Toyota’s weekend?

Chevrolet won the first four races of the season. Ford won last weekend with Joey Logano at Atlanta. Is it Toyota’s turn to win its first Cup race of the season? Or does Chevrolet return to dominance?

Chevrolet drivers have won 11 of the past 12 Cup races on road courses. The exception was Christopher Bell‘s win for Toyota at the Charlotte Roval in last year’s playoffs. Chevrolets have won the two previous Cup races at COTA: Chase Elliott in 2021 and Ross Chastain in 2022.

Details for Sunday’s Cup race at Circuit of the Americas

(All times Eastern)

START: Brendan Hunt, who plays Coach Beard in “Ted Lasso” on Apple TV+, will give the command to start engines at 3:38 p.m. … The green flag is scheduled to wave at 3:49 p.m.

PRERACE: Cup garage opens at 12:30 p.m. … Drivers meeting at 2:45 p.m. … Driver introductions at 3:05 p.m. … Invocation will be given by Sage Steele, ESPN broadcaster, at 3:30 p.m. … Jaime Camil, actor from “Schmigadoon” on Apple TV+, will perform the national anthem at 3:31 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 68 laps (231.88 miles) on the 3.41-mile, 20-turn road course.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends at Lap 15. Stage 2 ends at Lap 30.

TV/RADIO: Fox will broadcast the race at 3:30 p.m. Pre-race coverage begins at 2 p.m. on FS1 and moves to Fox at 3 p.m. … Performance Racing Network’s radio coverage begins at 2:30 p.m. and will also stream at; SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the PRN broadcast.


FORECAST: Weather Underground – Mostly cloudy with a high of 80 degrees and a 2% chance of rain at the start of the race.

STARTING LINEUP: COTA Cup starting lineup

LAST YEAR: Ross Chastain scored his first career Cup win in a physical battle with AJ Allmendinger on the final lap. Alex Bowman finished second. Christopher Bell placed third.


Friday 5: What to do about lack of respect on the track?

Dr. Diandra: With Chase Elliott out, these are the best Next Gen road racers

Drivers to watch at COTA

North Wilkesboro’s racing surface will prove challenging to drivers 

NASCAR Power Rankings: Christopher Bell is new No. 1

NASCAR Saturday schedule at Circuit of the Americas


Saturday will be a busy day at Circuit of the Americas, as all three national series are on the track.

Cup will qualify ahead of the Craftsman Truck and Xfinity Series races.

The forecast Saturday calls for sunny conditions and no chance of rain all day. The high is expected to be 69 degrees during Cup qualifying, 76 degrees at the start of the Truck race and 81 degrees for the start of the Xfinity race.

Zane Smith looks to win his second consecutive Truck race at the road course in Austin, Texas. AJ Allmendinger seeks his second consecutive Xfinity win at COTA.

Saturday, March 25

(All times Eastern)

Garage open

  • 8 a.m. – 1 p.m. — Cup Series
  • 10:30 a.m.  — Truck Series
  • 2 p.m. — Xfinity Series

Track activity

  • 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. — Cup qualifying (FS1)
  • 1:30 p.m. — Truck race (42 laps, 143 miles; FS1, Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)
  • 5 p.m. — Xfinity race (46 laps, 156 miles; FS1, Performance Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)