It’s truly a Happy happy hour for Harvick at Phoenix


Kevin Harvick, who will start from the pole in Sunday’s 500 at Phoenix International Raceway, continued his weekend dominance Saturday. He was fastest in the final practice session for Sprint Cup, covering the 1-mile flat track at 136.555 mph.

Matt Kenseth was next at 136.302 mph, followed by Kurt Busch (136.291), who paced the first practice earlier Saturday.

Results of Saturday’s final practice:

1. Kevin Harvick … 136.555 mph … 44 laps
2. Matt Kenseth … 136.302 … 35 laps
3. Kurt Busch … 136.291 … 51 laps
4. Joey Logano … 136.111 … 49 laps
5. Jamie McMurray … 136.080 … 41 laps
6. Dale Earnhardt Jr. … 136.075 … 44 laps
7. Brad Keselowski … 136.018 … 55 laps
8. Kasey Kahne … 135.941 … 53 laps
9. Martin Truex Jr. … 135.823 … 42 laps
10. Jeff Gordon … 135.793 … 50 laps
11. Kyle Larson … 135.736 … 38 laps
12. Carl Edwards … 135.716 … 44 laps
13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. … 135.695 … 37 laps
14. David Ragan … 135.639 … 42 laps
15. Denny Hamlin … 135.547 … 40 laps
16. Danica Patrick … 135.359 … 49 laps
17. Paul Menard … 135.343 … 39 laps
18. Clint Bowyer … 135.313 … 37 laps
19. Tony Stewart … 135.298 … 45 laps
20. Brian Vickers … 135.277 … 43 laps
21. Jimmie Johnson … 135.277 … 43 laps
22. Greg Biffle … 135.201 … 41 laps
23. Ryan Newman … 135.034 … 48 laps
24. Casey Mears … 134.943 … 50 laps
25. Austin Dillon … 134.922 … 38 laps
26. Sam Hornish Jr. … 134.821 … 29 laps
27. Aric Almirola … 134.746 … 36 laps
28. Trevor Bayne … 134.680 … 22 laps
29. David Gilliland … 134.484 … 29 laps
30. AJ Allmendinger … 134.318 … 26 laps
31. Cole Whitt … 134.088 … 20 laps
32. Landon Cassill … 133.998 … 29 laps
33. Brett Moffitt … 133.764 … 28 laps
34. Justin Allgaier … 133.615 … 32 laps
35. Michael Annett … 133.615 … 26 laps
36. Alex Bowman … 133.299 … 19 laps
37. Josh Wise … 133.289 … 8 laps
38. Alex Kennedy … 132.822 … 42 laps
39. Mike Bliss … 132.241 … 22 laps
40. Jeb Burton … 131.912 … 25 laps
41. JJ Yeley … 131.839 … 40 laps
42. Brendan Gaughan … 131.186 … 24 laps

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Portland Xfinity race results, driver points

Portland Xfinity results
Photo by James Gilbert/Getty Images

Cole Custer went from fourth to first on the overtime restart when the top three cars made contact and went on to win Saturday’s Xfinity Series race at Portland International Raceway. Custer is the 10th different winner in 13 races this season.

MORE: Portland Xfinity race results

MORE: Driver points after Portland Xfinity race

JR Motorsports took the next three spots: Justin Allgaier placed second, Sam Mayer was third and Josh Berry was fourth. Austin Hill completed the top five.

John Hunter Nemechek remains the points leader after 13 races. He has a 14-point lead on Hill. Nemechek leads Allgaier by 44 points.

Cole Custer wins Xfinity race at Portland in overtime


Cole Custer held off Justin Allgaier at the finish to win Saturday’s Xfinity Series race in overtime at Portland International Raceway. It is Custer’s first victory of the season.

JR Motorsports placed second, third and fourth with Allgaier, Sam Mayer and Josh Berry. Austin Hill finished fifth.

MORE: Race results, driver points

Custer went from fourth to first on the overtime restart when Parker Kligerman, who restarted third, attempted to pass Allgaier, who was leading. Sheldon Creed was on the outside of Allgaier. All three cars made contact entering Turn 1, allowing Custer to slip by. Creed finished seventh. Kligerman placed 14th.

Custer won the second stage when John Hunter Nemechek made contact with Creed’s car while racing for the lead on the final lap of the stage. The contact spun Creed and Custer inched by Nemechek at the line.

Early in the final stage, Creed gained revenge with contact that spun Nemechek, who went on to finish 10th. A few laps later, Nemechek and Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Sammy Smith had issues. Smith spun Nemechek. After getting back around, Nemechek quickly caught Smith and turned into Smith’s car, damaging it.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Sheldon Creed

STAGE 2 WINNER: Cole Custer

WHO HAD A GOOD RACE: Despite the contact on the overtime restart, runner-up Justin Allgaier managed to score his fourth consecutive top-three finish. … Sam Mayer’s third-place finish is his best on a road course. … Austin Hill’s fifth-place finish gives him four consecutive top-five results.

WHO HAD A BAD RACE: Daniel Hemric finished 33rd after a fire in his car. … Riley Herbst placed 32nd after an engine issue. After opening the season with six top 10s in a row, Herbst has gone seven races in a row without a top 10.

NEXT: The series competes June 10 at Sonoma Raceway (8 p.m. ET on FS1).

Truck race results at WWT Raceway: Grant Enfinger wins


Grant Enfinger took the lead when the leaders wrecked in the final laps and held off the field in overtime to win Saturday’s Craftsman Truck Series race at World Wide Technology Raceway.

It is Enfinger’s second win in the last five races. He also collected a $50,000 bonus for winning the Triple Truck Challenge.

MORE: Truck race results

MORE: Driver points after WWT Raceway

Christian Eckes finished second and was followed by Stewart Friesen, Carson Hocevar and Chase Purdy.

Ty Majeski and Zane Smith wrecked while racing for the lead with six laps to go. Majeski, running on the inside of Smith, slid up the track and clipped Smith’s truck. Both hit the wall. That put Enfinger in the lead.

Smith finished 20th. Majeski placed 30th.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Grant Enfinger

STAGE 2 WINNER: Stewart Friesen

WHO HAD A GOOD RACE: Grant Enfinger’s victory is his fourth top 10 in the last five races. … Carson Hocevar’s fourth-place finish is his fourth consecutive top-five result. … Stewart Friesen’s third-place finish moved him into a playoff spot with four races left in the regular season. … Matt DiBenedetto‘s sixth-place finish is his third consecutive top 10. … Jesse Love finished ninth in his series debut.

WHO HAD A BAD RACE: Ty Majeski had a chance to take the points lead with series leader Corey Heim out because of illness, but Majeski’s 30th-place finish after running at the front most of the day, leaves him behind Heim. … Hailie Deegan finished 32nd after contact sent her truck into the wall hard. … After finishing a career-high third last week at Charlotte, Dean Thompson placed 34th Saturday due to an engine issue.

NEXT: The series races June 23 at Nashville Superspeedway (8 p.m. ET on FS1)

Xfinity starting lineup at Portland: Sheldon Creed wins pole


Sheldon Creed scored his first career Xfinity Series pole by taking the top spot for Saturday’s race at Portland International Raceway.

Creed, making his 50th career series start, earned the pole with a lap of 95.694 mph on the 1.97-mile road course.

MORE: Portland Xfinity starting lineup

Cole Custer will start second with a lap of 95.398 mph. He is followed by Josh Berry (94.242 mph), John Hunter Nemechek (95.127) and Charlotte winner Justin Allgaier (94.897). Road racing specialist Jordan Taylor, driving for Kaulig Racing, qualified sixth at 94.772 mph.

The green flag is scheduled to wave 4:46 p.m. ET Saturday on FS1.