Kevin Harvick dominates en route to Hisense 250 Xfinity race win at Atlanta


Kevin Harvick made it three Xfinity Series wins in a row at Atlanta Motor Speedway, dominating in Saturday’s Hisense 250.

In winning a track-record fourth Xfinity race, Harvick led 101 laps of the 163-lap event.

“That [last] pit stop is what won this race,” Harvick told Fox Sports 1. “Joey probably had a little bit better car in the second half of the run, and it really played out for us there at the end as we were able to have that short run and take off.”

“I knew I needed to take off. I thought his car was a little bit better as we got to about Lap 20 and he started to reel us in from that point on. … Awesome pit stops all day long. We were able to make up ground on that last pit stop, and now we can enjoy a cold Budweiser in Victory Lane.”

Joey Logano finished second, followed by Ty Dillon, Chris Buescher and Chase Elliott.

“It’s racing, we did everything we can do,” Logano said. “As a team, we tried our hardest.”

Saturday was Logano’s fifth career Xfinity Series start at AMS. He’s finished runner-up the last two times there, preceded by three consecutive sixth-place finishes.

“I’m gonna keep running this Xfinity race until I win here,” Logano quipped. “I keep running it every year and I finish second every year. I’m so close. So, I’m gonna keep doing it until I get it.”

Finishing order:

1. Kevin Harvick … 101 laps led
2. Joey Logano … 59 laps led
3. Ty Dillon
4. Chris Buescher
5. Chase Elliott
6. Paul Menard
7. Brian Scott
8. Matt Kenseth … 3 laps led
9. Regan Smith
10. Kyle Larson
11. Darrell Wallace Jr.
12. Brendan Gaughan
13. Erik Jones
14. Daniel Suarez
15. Sam Hornish Jr.
16. Ryan Reed
17. Landon Cassill
18. Elliott Sadler
19. JJ Yeley
20. Dakoda Armstrong
21. Jeremy Clements
22. Blake Koch
23. Ryan Sieg
24. Ross Chastain
25. Mike Bliss
26. David Starr
27. John Wes Townley
28. Eric McClure
29. Chris Cockrum
30. Joey Gase
31. Cody Ware
32. Jeffrey Earnhardt
33. Jimmy Weller
34. Harrison Rhodes
35. Cale Conley
36. Derrike Cope
37. Mike Harmon
38. Josh Reaume
39. Carl Long
40. Morgan Shepherd

More to come

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Starting lineup for Talladega Cup race: Christopher Bell wins pole


Six playoff drivers will start in the top 10 for Sunday’s 500-mile NASCAR Cup Series playoff race at Talladega Superspeedway.

Christopher Bell won the pole for the race Saturday with a speed of 180.591 miles per hour. He was followed by Kyle Larson, Denny Hamlin, Aric Almirola and Chase Briscoe.

MORE: Talladega Cup starting lineup

MORE: Talladega Cup qualifying results

Playoff drivers starting in the top 10 are Bell, Larson, Hamlin, Briscoe, Ross Chastain (sixth) and William Byron (ninth).

Noah Gragson, who qualified seventh, is replacing Alex Bowman, who is sitting out the race with concussion-like symptoms.

Ryan Blaney, starting 19th, is the lowest playoff driver on the starting grid.


Christopher Bell wins Cup Series pole at Talladega Superspeedway


Playoff driver Christopher Bell won the pole position Saturday for Sunday’s 500-mile NASCAR Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway in Alabama.

Bell, 11th in the playoff standings and below the cutline entering Sunday’s race, ran 180.591 mph to edge second-place Kyle Larson at 180.516.

Playoff drivers took six of the top-10 starting spots.

MORE: Talladega Cup qualifying results

The race is the second in the second round of the playoffs. Any playoff driver who wins the race will automatically advance to the next round.

Joey Logano leads the playoff standings.

Noah Gragson, replacing Alex Bowman, who is sitting out the race with concussion-like symptoms, qualified seventh.

The race (2 p.m., ET) will be broadcast by NBC.



Sunday Talladega Cup race: Start time, TV info, weather


Sunday will mark a difficult crossroads for NASCAR. As several of its top drivers express serious concerns about safety, the Cup Series is at Talladega Superspeedway, the circuit’s biggest track and site of many massive wrecks over its 53 years of existence.

Adding to the tension is the fact that Sunday’s 188-lap, 500-mile race is the middle event in the second round of the playoffs. With a win automatically advancing any of the 12 playoff drivers to the next round, the final laps are likely to be frantic.

Sunday’s race (2 p.m. ET, NBC) will begin with Joey Logano atop the playoff point standings. Following him in the top eight are Ross Chastain, Kyle Larson, Ryan Blaney, Denny Hamlin, Daniel Suarez, Chase Elliott and Chase Briscoe.

Below the cutline are Austin Cindric, William Byron, Christopher Bell and Alex Bowman. Byron fell below the line this week when NASCAR penalized him for bumping Hamlin under caution during last Sunday’s race at Texas Motor Speedway. Hendrick Motorsports has appealed the penalty.

Bowman will miss Sunday’s race because of concussion-like symptoms he has experienced after a crash at Texas. Noah Gragson will replace him.

Bell won the pole Saturday with a speed of 180.591 mph.

Details for Sunday’s race:

START: The command to start engines will be given by Jimmy Rane, president of Great Southern Wood Preserving, at 1:52 p.m. (ET). … Green flag is scheduled to wave at 2:04 p.m.

PRERACE: Cup garage opens at 11 a.m. … Driver introductions are at 1:15 p.m. … The invocation will be given by Barbara Embry, chaplin of Citizens Baptist Medical Center, at 1:43 p.m. … The national anthem will be performed by the 313th U.S. Army Band at 1:45 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 188 laps (500 miles) on the 2.66-mile speedway.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends at Lap 60. Stage 2 ends at Lap 120.

STARTING LINEUP: Talladega Cup starting lineup

TV/RADIO: NBC will broadcast the race at 2 p.m. Countdown to Green begins at 1 p.m. … Motor Racing Network coverage begins at 1 p.m. … SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the MRN broadcast.


FORECAST: Weather Underground — Mainly sunny. High of 78. 5% chance of rain.

LAST TIME: Bubba Wallace won last October’s race, which was shortened to 117 laps by rain. Brad Keselowski was second.


Could in-car cameras change NASCAR officiating?

Wide-open Talladega could produce 20th different seasonal winner

Alex Bowman sitting out Talladega because of concussion-like symptoms

Dr. Diandra: Is Talladega really a playoff wildcard?


Saturday NASCAR schedule at Talladega Superspeedway


Both the Xfinity Series and Camping World Truck Series will race Saturday at Talladega Superspeedway.

Cup cars will start the day’s action by qualifying for Sunday’s playoff race, followed by the Truck playoff race and then the Xfinity playoff race.

Talladega Superspeedway (Cup, Xfinity and Truck)

Weekend weather

Saturday: Sunny. High of 78.

Saturday, Oct. 1

(All times Eastern)

Garage open

  • 8:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. — Cup Series
  • 9:30 a.m. — Truck Series
  • 1 p.m. — Xfinity Series

Track activity

  • 10:30 a.m. – Noon — Cup Series qualifying (NBC Sports app, Motor Racing Network, Sirius XM NASCAR Radio)
  • 12:30 p.m. — Truck Series race (94 laps, 250 miles; FS1, Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)
  • 4 p.m. — Xfinity Series race (113 laps, 300 miles; USA Network, Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)