Dale Earnhardt Jr. is fastest in Friday’s second Sprint Cup practice

1 Comment

The dominating Hendrick Motorsports run-up to Sunday’s Daytona 500 continued in Friday’s second Sprint Cup practice of the day at Daytona International Speedway.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. paced the field with a best lap of 194.405 mph, followed by HMS teammates Kasey Kahne (193.528) and Jimmie Johnson (193.096).

Only 25 drivers took part in the session, up from just 14 in the morning practice.

Danica Patrick was fourth fastest (192.810) in the session, followed by rookie Ryan Blaney (192.781), Kyle Busch (192.431), Greg Biffle (192.369), Jamie McMurray (192.029), Carl Edwards (191.885) and Austin Dillon (191.853).

To put the HMS domination in perspective, consider what has occurred thus far in Speedweeks:

* Jeff Gordon and Johnson captured the front row in last Sunday’s pole qualifying.

* Thursday night, Earnhardt and Johnson won their respective races in the Budweiser Duel 150s.

* And Friday, Gordon was the fastest in the first practice, while Earnhardt was tops in the second practice.

MORE: Jeff Gordon paces first of two Friday Sprint Cup practices

One more practice session remains for Sprint Cup drivers on Saturday at 10:30 to 11:55 am ET. The 57th Daytona 500 takes the green flag on Sunday, shortly after 1 pm ET.


1. Dale Earnhardt Jr. … 194.405 mph … 24 laps
2. Kasey Kahne … 193.528 … 30 laps
3. Jimmie Johnson … 193.096 … 16 laps
4. Danica Patrick … 192.810 … 19 laps
5. Ryan Blaney … 192.781 … 13 laps
6. Kyle Busch … 192.431 … 4 laps
7. Greg Biffle … 192.369 … 17 laps
8. Jamie McMurray … 192.029 … 16 laps
9. Carl Edwards … 191.885 … 7 laps
10. Austin Dillon … 191.853 … 23 laps
11. Sam Hornish Jr. … 191.791 … 18 laps
12. Casey Mears … 191.779 …21 laps
13. Ryan Newman … 191.771 … 29 laps
14. Ty Dillon … 191.730 … 15 laps
15. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. … 191.722 … 20 laps
16. Kyle Larson … 191.404 … 26 laps
17. Trevor Bayne … 191.201 … 13 laps
18. Justin Allgaier … 191.201 … 13 laps
19. Aric Almirola … 190.573 … 10 laps
20. AJ Allmendinger … 190.182 … 10 laps
21. David Gilliland … 189.930 … 10 laps
22. Landon Cassill … 189.801 … 5 laps
23. Bobby Labonte … 189.366 … 11 laps
24. Cole Whitt … 189.278 … 14 laps
25. David Ragan … 188.553 … 7 laps

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Tyler Reddick wins Charlotte Xfinity race

Getty images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. —  Tyler Reddick won Saturday’s Alsco 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway, earning his second Xfinity Series win of the season.

Reddick led the final 15 laps after he took advantage of Cole Custer spinning his tires on a restart.

Reddick beat Justin Allgaier, Jeffrey Earnhardt, Noah Gragson and Justin Haley.

Pole-sitter Christopher Bell finished 31st after he made contact with the wall and cut down his right front tire with two laps to go in Stage 2. He attempted to finish out the stage, but the tire shredded and caused significant damage to his car. It’s his second DNF of the season.

Bell’s teammate, Brandon Jones, also got into the wall and cut a tire within a lap of Bell. Jones opted to pit immediately and was able to continue and finished ninth.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Christopher Bell

STAGE 2 WINNER: Tyler Reddick

WHAT’S NEXT: Pocono Green 250 at Pocono Raceway at 1 p.m. ET on June 1 on FS1

Check back for more

Daniel Suarez fastest in final Coca-Cola 600 practice

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Daniel Suarez completed a sweep of Saturday’s two Cup practice sessions by posting the top speed in final practice for the Coca-Cola 600.

Suarez recorded a speed of 180.704 mph around Charlotte Motor Speedway. He made 51 laps in the session.

“I will say one of the best (cars of his Cup career) for sure,” Suarez said. “I feel like this year I’ve had some good race cars with an opportunity to finish in the top five and top 10, but I feel like this car has been pretty solid.  It’s fast and it’s not comfortable to drive 100 percent, but I don’t feel like anyone out there is comfortable right now, so it’s been sunny and hot and slick and that makes things a little bit more difficult, but overall my team has been doing a very good job with Stewart-Haas Racing and Ford Performance.  We have a good piece and hopefully we can take advantage of it tomorrow.”

The top five was completed by Daniel Hemric (180.686 mph), Denny Hamlin (180.553), Ryan Preece (180.469) and Kyle Busch (180.276).

“I felt pretty good with our practice there,” said Hamlin, who will start 20th Sunday. “It was one of our better practices of the year. We’re going to have to start from deep in the field, which is going to be a challenge with traffic, but we’ve got a long race to get it done. Pretty happy with where we’re at.”

Busch has the best 10-lap average at 179.485 mph

Chase Elliott recorded the most laps in the session with 62. He was 18th on the speed chart.

Click here for the speed chart.

Christopher Bell wins pole for Xfinity Charlotte race

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. —  Christopher Bell will start first in today’s Xfinity Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Bell won his third pole of the season with a speed of 184.313 mph. His previous poles were at Texas Motor Speedway and ISM Raceway.

The top five is completed by Cole Custer (183.187 mph), Tyler Reddick (182.192), Austin Dillon (181.659) and Brandon Jones (181.610).

Justin Haley will start 35th after an axle broke on his No. 11 Chevrolet in the middle of his qualifying run.

Ross Chastain did not finish his qualifying run after experiencing an electrical problem in the ignition on his No. 4 Chevrolet. He will start 37th out of 38 cars.

The Alsco 300 is scheduled to start at 1:16 p.m. ET on FS1.

Click here for the starting lineup.

Check back for more.

Today’s Xfinity race at Charlotte: Start time, lineup and more

Getty Image
Leave a comment

After a two-week break, the Xfinity Series returns to action today for the Alsco 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Here’s all the info you need for today’s race.

(All times are Eastern)

START: North Carolina Basketball Legend Phil Ford will give the command to start engines at 1:07 p.m. The green flag is scheduled for 1:16 p.m.

PRERACE: Driver/crew chief meeting is at 10:45 a.m. Driver introductions begin at 12:30 p.m. The invocation will be given at 1 p.m. by Billy Mauldin, CEO and President of Motor Racing Outreach. U. S. Marine Corps Lance Corporal Marc Wilka will perform the National Anthem at 1:01 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 200 laps (300 miles) around the 1.5-mile track.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 45. Stage 2 ends on Lap 90.

TV/RADIO: FS1 will televise the race. Coverage begins at 12:30 p.m. The Performance Racing Network’s radio broadcast begins at 12:30 p.m. and also can be heard at goprn.com. SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry PRN’s broadcast.

FORECAST: wunderground.com calls for a high of 90 degrees and a 20% percent chance of rain for the start of the race.

LAST TIME: Brad Keselowski won this race over Cole Custer and Christopher Bell.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for the starting lineup.