Entry lists for Martinsville (updated)

Leave a comment

NASCAR visits a short track for the first time this season when it heads to Martinsville Speedway, the oldest track on the circuit.

The Cup Series is joined by the Camping World Truck Series, which has been off the last two weeks.

Here are the entry lists for both races.

Cup – STP 500

There are 38 cars entered.

Jeffrey Earnhardt is listed as driving StarCom Racing’s No. 00 Chevrolet, but the team announced Sunday it has parted ways with Earnhardt.

Landon Cassill will take his place this weekend and at Texas Motor Speedway.

D.J. Kennington is entered in his third race this season, driving Gaunt Brothers Racing’s No. 96 Toyota.

Ross Chastain is entered in Premium Motorsports’ No. 15 Chevrolet for the fifth time this season.

Harrison Rhodes is entered in Rick Ware Racing’s No. 51 Chevrolet. Rhodes has one start in the No. 51 at Atlanta.

JJ Yeley will drive Premium Motorsports’ N0. 55 Chevrolet. Reed Sorenson was originally listed as the driver.

Last year, Brad Keselowski won this race after leading 116 of 500 laps. He beat Kyle Busch and Chase Elliott. In the fall playoff race, Busch won over Martin Truex Jr. and Clint Bowyer.

Click here for the entry list.

Trucks – Alpha Energy Solutions 250

There are 36 trucks entered.

Todd Gilliland will make his first start of the season in Kyle Busch Motorsports’ No. 4 Toyota.

Kyle Benjamin is entered in DGR-Crosley’s No. 54 Toyota. It will be his first Truck start.

Timothy Peters will make his first start of the year driving Ricky Benton Racing’s No. 92 Ford. A former driver for the defunct Red Horse Racing, Peters’ last start was in the 2017 finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Last year, Chase Elliott won this race over Johnny Sauter and Christopher Bell. The fall playoff race was won by Noah Gragson over Matt Crafton and Sauter.

Click here for the entry list.

Starting lineup for the Auto Club 400

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Busch will start on the front row of Sunday’s Auto Club 400 at Auto Club Speedway.

They will be followed by Kyle Larson, Erik Jones, Austin Dillon and Joey Logano.

Kevin Harvick will start his attempt at a fourth consecutive win from 10th.

Thirteen drivers will start from the rear after their cars failed qualifying inspection.

Click here for the starting lineup

NASCAR America: Scan All from ISM Raceway

Leave a comment

“History making right there, you’re the man.”

That’s what crew chief Rodney Childers said to Kevin Harvick after he won his record ninth Cup race at ISM Raceway and his third consecutive race, a career first.

Scan All is back this week to relive Sunday’s race through the best scanner traffic from the Ticket Guardian 500.

Here are some highlights.

— “Went from needing long johns yesterday to I can take my shirt off today.” – Brett Griffin, spotter for Clint Bowyer.

“I probably wouldn’t do that.” – Bowyer

— “My back tires are shaking so much.” – Kyle Larson, who would spin to bring out the caution on Lap 123.

— “Fix your radio, you’re worthless to me right now.” – Jamie McMurray while experiencing radio problems that kept him from communicating with his spotter.

— “Oh, saved by the bell! Gosh, we’ve gotta’ fix this!” – Michael McDowell right after a Paul Menard wreck brought out the caution.

Watch the above video for the full “Scan All” experience.


Results, stats for TicketGuardian 500 at ISM Raceway

Leave a comment

Kevin Harvick led 38 laps Sunday at ISM Raceway and won his third consecutive Cup race.

Harvick beat Kyle Busch and Chase Elliott.

The win is Harvick’s 40th in the Cup Series. It’s also his ninth win at the 1-mile track.

Busch was runner-up to Harvick for the second week in a row.

Elliott’s top five is the first for Hendrick Motorsports this season.

Click here for the race results.


Six Cup teams to serve penalties in practice at Phoenix

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Kevin Harvick‘s team is among six teams that will miss 15 minutes of practice today for inspection issues this weekend at ISM Raceway, NASCAR announced Saturday morning.

Penalized 15 minutes of practice in the day’s first session (12:05 – 12:55 p.m. ET) will be the teams of Gray Gaulding, Michael McDowell, Kurt Busch and Timmy Hill. All are penalized for being late to qualifying inspection Friday.

Harvick and Matt DiBenedetto will each miss 15 minutes of final practice (2:30 – 3:20 p.m.) because their cars failed qualifying inspection twice.

All penalties will be served at the end of the session.

 and on Facebook