Timothy Peters

Getty Images

Red Horse Racing suspends operations

1 Comment

Red Horse Racing, which has competed in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series since 2005, has suspended operations.

The organization, which reached the championship race last year with Timothy Peters, had 16 career victories. The team laid off 30 employees along with Peters and driver Brett Moffitt, a team official told NBC Sports. The team has kept a core group of employees as it seeks funding to resume operations.

Peters finished fifth in Friday night’s race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Moffitt placed 18th. Peters is sixth in the points and Moffitt is 10th. Neither truck has had a primary sponsor listed in all five races this season. 

Peters won at least one race for the organization from 2009-15. In 2012, the organization finished second in the owner points with four drivers scoring wins: Peters (two wins), Todd Bodine (one), John King (one) and Parker Kligerman (one).

 and on Facebook

Results of Camping World Truck Series race at Charlotte

Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images
1 Comment

Kyle Busch scored his 48th career Camping World Truck Series victory Friday night at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Busch led 90 of 134 laps.

Johnny Sauter finished second and was followed by Christopher Bell, Ryan Truex and Timothy Peters.

Click here for race results

Rookie Chase Briscoe fastest in lone Truck Series practice at Daytona

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Chase Briscoe has never made a start in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

But that didn’t stop the Truck Series rookie from being fastest in Thursday’s sole practice session at Daytona International Speedway.

The 22-year-old Mitchell, Indiana native paced the 42-truck field with a top speed of 192.980 mph in his Cooper Standard Ford.

Scott Lagasse Jr. was second-fastest at 192.786 mph, followed by another Truck Series rookie, Cody Coughlin at 192.497 mph.

Ben Rhodes was fourth-fastest at 191.914 mph and series veteran Timothy Peters was fifth-fastest at 188.909 mph. Defending 2016 series champ Johnny Sauter was sixth-fastest at 187.203 mph.

Originally, the Trucks were supposed to have two practice sessions Thursday, but rain forced the cancellation of the first session at 2 p.m. ET, prompting NASCAR officials to combine sessions for nearly two hours of practice later in the afternoon.

The 2017 Truck Series season kicks off Friday night with the NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona International Speedway.

Here’s how the entire practice session played out:

trucks-daytona1-practice-2-23-2017_page_1 trucks-daytona1-practice-2-23-2017_page_2


Brett Moffitt returns to Red Horse Racing for first two Truck races of season

Red Horse Racing
1 Comment

Brett Moffitt will drive a second entry for Red Horse Racing in the first two races of the Camping World Truck Series this season.

Moffitt, the 2015 Cup Series Rookie of the Year, will drive the No. 7 truck for the team at Daytona International Speedway and Atlanta Motor Speedway. Timothy Peters returns to the No. 17 truck.

The 24-year-old driver competed in six races last year for Red Horse Racing in the place of Matt Tifft. The Iowa-native earned his first national NASCAR win in August at Michigan International Speedway when he passed Peters coming to the checkered flag.

The No. 7 team will be led by crew chief Butch Hylton, who has eight wins in both the Xfinity and Truck Series.

The Truck season begins on Feb. 24 with the Next Era Energy Resources 250 at Daytona.

NASCAR Fan Appreciation Day at Hall of Fame set for Jan. 21

Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images for NASCAR Hall of Fame
Leave a comment

The NASCAR Hall of Fame will hold its annual Fan Appreciation Day on Jan. 21, the day after the Hall of Fame inducts its 2017 class.

Fan Appreciation Day is a free event, but tickets to autograph sessions must be secured in advance. Tickets can be claimed at NASCARHall.com starting at 10 a.m. ET on Saturday. One fan can claim up to two tickets for one of the seven autograph sessions (one ticket for an individual or two tickets for an individual and their guest).

The day will include Q&A’s with NASCAR drivers and owners that will be followed by the autograph sessions. Q&A sessions are open to all fans.

NASCAR Next drivers and 2017 inductees Rick Hendrick and Mark Martin will also participate in Q&As for every fan in attendance.

Here are the seven autograph sessions. The Q&A sessions begin 30 minutes before each session.

Session Drivers
Session 1 (9:30 a.m.) Richard Childress, Austin Dillon, Ty Dillon
Session 2 (10:30 a.m.) Aric Almirola, Ryan Reed, Timothy Peters
Session 3 (11:30 a.m.) Kasey Kahne, Daniel Suárez, John Hunter Nemechek
Session 4 (12:30 p.m.) Martin Truex Jr., Brandon Jones, Noah Gragson
Session 5 (2 p.m.) Chase Elliott, Blake Koch, Kaz Grala
Session 6 (3 p.m.) David Ragan, Brennan Poole, Christopher Bell
Session 7 (4 p.m.) Paul Menard, Brendan Gaughan, Johnny Sauter