Ryan Truex

Getty Images

Brandon Jones leads final Truck practice at Iowa

Leave a comment

Brandon Jones paced the final Truck practice Friday at Iowa Speedway. Jones had a lap of 135.251 mph.

He was followed by Ryan Truex (135.245 mph), Ben Rhodes (134.100), Johnny Sauter (133.350) and Kaz Grala (133.350).

There were no incidents in the session.

The series qualifies at 6:05 p.m. ET today and races at 8:30 p.m.

Click here for Truck practice report

Christopher Bell wins Texas Truck race under caution after scary wreck for Timothy Peters

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Christopher Bell rallied to gain the lead by inches as the white flag waved — and seconds before a final yellow flag that gave him the win under caution — in Friday night’s WinstarOnlineGaming.com 400 Camping World Truck Series race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Bell was side-by-side with Chase Briscoe as they closed in on Lap 166 to take the white flag. But as they crossed the start-finish line, Bell had an advantage of just a few inches.

About two seconds later, the caution came out after a scary wreck on the frontstretch involving Austin Wayne Self and Timothy Peters, bringing out a red flag race stoppage. When the race resumed under caution about four minutes later, NASCAR brought the field around under caution, past the wreckage and awarded Bell the victory.

MORE: Race results from WinstarOnlineGaming.com 400

MORE: Camping World Truck Series driver standings after Texas

It was Bell’s second win in this season’s first seven Camping World Truck Series races and his fourth career Trucks victory. Had Briscoe — who finished second — won, it would have been his first career Truck win.

“It was close, I know that much,” Briscoe told FS1. “It was a fun race, an awesome race. Christopher and I are really good friends. It was fun to put on a show with him. Definitely wanted to get the win, but we’re going to St. Louis next weekend and see if we can the the win.”

Ryan Truex finished third, followed by Grant Enfinger, Ben Rhodes, Justin Haley, Noah Gragson, Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton and Kaz Grala.

The race-deciding incident was triggered when Self got loose on the front straightaway, hit the outside wall, bounced back towards the infield and Peters had nowhere to go.

Timothy Peters’ truck wound up on its roof after a scary flip following contact with the truck of Austin Wayne Self.

Peters’ truck slammed into Self’s and then went end over-end, landing upside down. Once the truck was righted, Peters emerged under his own power and was taken to the infield medical center. Peters finished 12th.

It was Peters’ first start for MDM Motorsports. He previously raced for Red Horse Racing, which suspended operations after last month’s race at Charlotte due to lack of sponsorship.

HOW BELL WON: It doesn’t get much closer than the way Bell won, by mere inches when he crossed the start-finish line just ahead of Briscoe going into the final lap before the race finished under caution. Bell led more than half of the laps (92 of 167).

WHO ELSE HAD A GOOD RACE: Briscoe was oh, so close to his first career Truck win. He only led seven laps but if the race had not been impacted by the final caution, Briscoe had a truck that may have beaten Bell if the race finished under green. … Grant Enfinger also had a strong third-place run.

WHO HAD A BAD RACE: A number of drivers were involved in wrecks that ended their evenings early, including Austin Cindric, Jordan Anderson, Myatt Snider, John Hunter Nemechek, Cody Coughlin and Kaz Grala.

NOTABLE: Johnny Sauter won Stage 1, while Bell won Stage 2. … Noah Gragson had quite the day. He officially graduated from high school, won the pole and finished seventh.

QUOTE OF THE DAY: “We’re in victory lane. It’s just a dream come true to be able to win here in Texas, my hometown.” – Race winner Christopher Bell.

WHAT’S NEXT: Gateway 200, Saturday June 17, 8:30 p.m. ET, Gateway Motorsports Park; Madison, Illinois.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Noah Gragson earns first career Truck pole for tonight’s race at Texas

Getty Images
1 Comment

Noah Gragson will start from the pole for tonight’s WinstarOnlineGaming.com 400 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Texas Motor Speedway.

In earning his first career pole in just his ninth Truck Series race, the 18-year-old Gragson (185.135 mph) edged past last week’s winner at Dover, Johnny Sauter (185.115 mph), who will start on the outside of the front row tonight.

Matt Crafton (184.622) will start third, followed by Ryan Truex (184.212) and Grant Enfinger (183.698).

Starting sixth through 10th are Kaz Grala (183.630), Ben Rhodes (183.281), John Hunter Nemechek (182.543), Austin Cindric (181.708) and Justin Haley (181.476).

Timothy Peters, who is making his first appearance for a new team, MDM Motorsports, qualified 14th.

There will be only 28 trucks in tonight’s race.

Click here for the full Truck Series qualifying grid.

Follow @JerryBonkowski


Christopher Bell sweeps all three Truck practices at Texas

Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Christopher Bell posted the fastest lap in the final Camping World Truck Series practice Thursday night at Texas Motor Speedway.

Bell had the fastest lap in each of the three sessions. He had a lap of 185.982 mph in the final practice. He was followed by Johnny Sauter (185.420 mph), Ben Rhodes (184.982), Matt Crafton (184.641) and Ryan Truex (184.634).

Bell  also had the fastest average over 10 consecutive laps at 184.163 mph in the session.


First-timers on Truck Series front row at Dover: Briscoe on Pole, Truex alongside

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Chase Briscoe had some extra motivation in winning his first career pole in the Camping World Truck Series. His grandfather underwent open-heart surgery Friday, and Briscoe dedicated his performance at Dover International Speedway to him.

“It’s huge,” Briscoe told Fox Sports 1 of winning the pole (156.474 mph) for this afternoon’s Bar Harbor 200, which starts around 5:30 p.m. ET. “It’s pretty special with everything going on with my grandpa right now. I’m sure when he wakes up, he’s going to be pretty excited.”

It will be a green front row, so to speak. Not only is it Briscoe’s first career Truck pole, Ryan Truex earned the highest starting spot of his career, earning the outside pole (156.420 mph).

Christopher Bell was third-fastest (156.352), Austin Cindric (156.094) and Jesse Little (155.918).

Click here for the full Truck qualifying results.

Follow @JerryBonkowski