chase briscoe

Getty Images

T.J. Majors leaving Hendrick Motorsports as No. 88 spotter at season’s end

Leave a comment

T.J. Majors announced on Twitter Monday that this will be his last season with Hendrick Motorsports and the No. 88 NASCAR Cup team.

Majors serves as the spotter for Dale Earnhardt Jr., who is also in his final season driving in Cup.

“I would like to thank Mr. Hendrick and everyone at the organization for an incredible 10+ years that have provided me countless friendships and memories that I will forever be grateful for.”

Majors also serves as spotter for Justin Allgaier’s No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, as well as the No. 29 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford driven by Chase Briscoe.

Majors did not announce what he’ll be doing after leaving HMS.

Here’s what Majors tweeted:

UPDATE: Monday on his podcast “Door, Bumper, Clear,” Majors announced he will spot for Joey Logano in 2018.

“They’ve been great to me, I look forward to it,” Majors said. “Going to be teammates with Brad (Keselowski). Obviously, Brad’s one of my best friends. … Joey Logano’s been great. I like him, he’s really a good guy. I know people boo him and stuff for racing hard. But I like how Joey drives. He’s aggressive. He knows what he needs to do.”

In a related move, Alex Bowman, who will replace Earnhardt in the No. 88 next season, announced on Twitter his spotter for the 2018 Cup season will be Kevin Hamlin.


Parker Kligerman wins Truck race at Talladega

Getty Images
Leave a comment

TALLADEGA, Alabama — NASCAR on NBC analyst Parker Kligerman led the final two laps and won in overtime to score his second career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series win Saturday at Talladega Superspeedway.

Christopher Bell finished second. Myatt Snider placed third.

Kligerman’s other series victory came in 2012 at Talladega. Just like then, he planted the checkered flag in the frontstretch grass.

“Everything is just a blur,” Kligerman said. “Every move worked perfectly. When I go back and look at it, I’ll look at those moves, some of the hardest to make are when you are in the bottom and you’re running the top five and you don’t really have a partner and you’re trying to stop or block that top lane or get that momentum of that top lane. All I think about these speedway races is literally the last three laps and what I’m going to see out of the right rear of my truck because the move that you make to win these races 90 percent of the time is that.”

MORE: Race results

Kaz Grala, who was involved in an early wreck, and Chase Briscoe, who had mechanical issues early, were eliminated from playoff contention.

Advancing to the Round of 6 are Bell, Ben Rhodes, Matt Crafton, Johnny Sauter, Austin Cindric and Nemechek.

Stage 1 winner: Johnny Sauter

Stage 2 winner: Johnny Sauter

How Parker Kligerman won: He avoided issues early, put himself in the right spot and took the lead on the overtime restart to win.

Who had a good day: John Hunter Nemechek finished sixth after being in an accident and avoiding two others later to advance in the playoffs despite entering the race last among the playoff contenders, 14 points out of a transfer spot. … Christopher Bell finished second for his fourth consecutive top-three finish. … Myatt Snider finished a career-best third.

Who had a bad day: Daytona winner Kaz Grala’s playoff hopes ended when he was involved in a crash on Lap 19. Chris Fontaine spun and Grala was involved in an incident when he was hit from behind and sent into the wall. Grala finished 29th. … Chase Briscoe’s truck started smoking on lap 6 and went to the garage on Lap 8 after fluids were leaking. He returned 10 laps down and finished 22nd, nine laps behind the leaders but it wasn’t good enough to advance in the playoffs.

Notable: Parker Kligerman led only three of 95 laps, including the final two.

Quote of the day: “That’s a tough one,’’ Kaz Grala said after a wreck prevented him from advancing to the next round of the playoffs.

Next: Oct. 28 at Martinsville Speedway

 and on Facebook

Christopher Bell wins pole for today’s Truck race at Talladega

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Christopher Bell will start on the pole for today’s Camping World Truck Series race at Talladega Superspeedway after a lap of 180.118 mph. It is Bell’s fourth pole of the season.

Reigning series champion Johnny Sauter will start second after a lap of 179.027 mph.

They are followed by Stewart Friesen (178.753 mph), Justin Haley (178.188) and Chase Briscoe (177.771).

Kaz Grala, who is eight points out of a transfer spot, was third fastest in the opening session of qualifying but did not make an attempt in the final round because of leaking fluids. His team will change the engine.

Click here for starting lineup

Christopher Bell holds dominating lead in Truck playoffs

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Christopher Bell, who finished second in Saturday’s Las Vegas 350 Truck Series race, holds a commanding 47-point lead over race winner Ben Rhodes, while Matt Crafton is third (-51), followed by Johnny Sauter (-54) and and Chase Briscoe (-68).

The first playoff round cutoff race is two weeks from now at Talladega Superspeedway.

Austin Cindric is sixth at 70 points behind Bell, on the positive side of the cutoff line.

MOREBen Rhodes earns first career Truck win, advances to second round of playoffs

MORE: Results from Saturday’s Camping World Truck Series race in Las Vegas

That leaves Kaz Grala (8 points behind Cindric) and John Hunter Nemechek (14 points behind Cindric) essentially in must-win situations at Talladega, or risk elimination after that race.

Click here for the Truck Series point standings after Saturday’s race.


Little brother does good: Ryan Truex takes Truck race pole at Las Vegas

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Like big brother, like little brother.

On Friday, 37-year-old Martin Truex Jr. won the pole for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup race at Dover.

Roughly 24 hours later and over 2,500 miles away, younger sibling Ryan Truex, 25, won the pole for tonight’s Las Vegas 350 Camping World Truck Series race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway with a run of 177.194 mph.

“I was confident in this truck,” Ryan Truex told Fox Sports 1. “It’s the same one we sat on the pole at Chicago, so I had no worries going in.”

Tonight will be Ryan Truex’s 37th career start in the Truck Series. He’s enjoying his best season ever with seven top-5s, 11 top-10s and now two poles.

Now, Truex said, there’s one more detail left:

“I’ve gotta win still,” he told FS1. “That’s the last box I need to check. We’ve got stage wins, led laps and earned poles, we just need to put this Tundra in victory lane.”

Defending Truck Series champion Johnny Sauter was second (175.916 mph), followed by Chase Briscoe (176.881), Christopher Bell (176.713) and Matt Crafton (176.655).

Also of note, Travis Pastrana qualified 18th in his first Truck start in two seasons and third overall of his career.

The race takes the green flag shortly after 8 p.m. ET and will be televised on FS1

Click here for the qualifying results.