Todd Gilliland

Getty Images

Teammates Christopher Bell, Noah Gragson qualify on Phoenix Truck front row

Leave a comment

Christopher Bell will start from the pole for tonight’s Lucas Oil 150 Camping World Truck Series race at Phoenix Raceway.

Bell, who is the current points leader in the Truck Series, scored the fastest speed of the 32-truck field at 137.012 mph.

Bell’s Kyle Busch Motorsports teammate Noah Gragson will also be on the front row for tonight’s race, qualifying with a speed of 135.619 mph.

Playoff contender Ben Rhodes qualified third (135.359), followed by fellow playoff contender Matt Crafton (135.318) and Todd Gilliland (135.014).

The remaining drivers still in contention to advance to next Friday’s Ford EcoBoost 200 championship race are John Hunter Nemechek (6th, 134.821), Austin Cindric (7th, 134.645) and defending Truck Series champ Johnny Sauter (10th, 133.556).

Click here for the full qualifying results.

Todd Gilliland paces final Truck practice at Phoenix

Photo by Grant Halverson/Getty Images
Leave a comment

AVONDALE, Arizona – Todd Gilliland led the way in the final Camping World Truck Series practice Friday with a lap of 135.461 mph

Gilliland, driving for Kyle Busch Motorsports, was followed by playoff contender Christopher Bell (135.034 mph), playoff contender Matt Crafton (134.489), Noah Gragson (134.399) and playoff contender John Hunter Nemechek (134.138).

Among the other playoff contenders: Austin Cindric was sixth at 133.824 mph, Johnny Sauter was seventh at 133.328 mph and Ben Rhodes was ninth at 132.920 mph.

Gilliland also posted the best average over 10 consecutive laps at 132.630 mph.

Qualifying is at 5:30 p.m. ET and the race at 8:30 p.m. ET.

Click here for full practice report


Preliminary entry lists for NASCAR at Phoenix Raceway

Getty Images
Leave a comment

It’s time to determine which drivers will compete for NASCAR’s three national titles at Homestead-Miami Speedway next week.

All three of NASCAR’s national series will set their championship four this weekend at Phoenix Raceway.

The Cup Series holds the Can-Am 500. The Xfinity Series competes in the Ticket Galaxy 200. The Camping World Truck Series begins the race weekend with the Lucas Oil 150.

Here are the preliminary entry lists for each race.

Cup – Can-Am 500

There are 40 cars entered. There are no drivers attached to the No. 51 Chevrolet owned by Rick Ware Racing and the No. 83 Toyota of BK Racing.

DJ Kennington will drive Premium Motorsports’ No. 15 Toyota in his fourth start of the year.

Joey Gase will make his second straight start in the No. 7 Chevrolet for Tommy Baldwin Racing.

Ryan Newman is the defending Phoenix winner. He won in March in an overtime finish.

Joey Logano won this race last year, leading 58 laps and beating Kyle Busch and Kyle Larson.

Click here for the entry list.

Xfinity – Ticket Galaxy 200

There are 40 cars entered. Cup drivers Austin Dillon, Ty Dillon, Erik Jones and Ryan Blaney are entered.

Alex Bowman will make his second start in the No. 42 Chevrolet owned by Chip Ganassi Racing. Bowman won his first start with the team last month at Charlotte.

Joe Nemechek is entered in the No. 15 Chevrolet owned by JD Motorsports.

Justin Allgaier won at Phoenix in March after leading 55 laps. He beat Blaney and Jones.

Kyle Busch won the prior three Phoenix races.

Click here for the entry list.

Camping World Truck Series – Lucas Oil 150

There are 30 entries. No Cup drivers are entered.

No driver is attached to the No. 99 Chevrolet owned by MDM Motorsports.

Todd Gilliland will drive Kyle Busch Motorsports’ No. 51 Toyota.

Daniel Suarez won this race last year after leading 34 laps and beating Johnny Sauter and Matt Crafton.

Click here for the entry list.

Results from the Camping World Truck Series race at Martinsville

Sarah Crabill/Getty Images
Leave a comment

MARTINSVILLE, Virginia — Noah Gragson scored his first Camping World Truck Series victory in his 22nd start on the circuit, winning Saturday’s Texas Roadhouse 200 at Martinsville Speedway.

Matt Crafton finished second, his 19th top 10 in 32 races. Johnny Sauter, Harrison Burton and Todd Gilliland rounded out the top five.

Click here for the results of Saturday’s race at Martinsville Speedway.



Matt Crafton leads first Truck Series practice at Martinsville

Getty Imags
Leave a comment

Matt Crafton was fastest in the first practice session for the Camping World Truck Series at Martinsville Speedway.

The  No. 88 Chevrolet posted the top speed of 94.073 mph around the half-mile track.

Crafton was followed by Christopher Bell (93.775), Todd Gilliland (93.752), Johnny Sauter (93.687) and Ben Rhodes (93.576).

Jeffrey Abbey, who was 24th fastest, recorded the most laps with 52.

Chase Briscoe had the best 10-lap average at 92.770 mph. Harrison Burton had the second-best average at 91.880 mph.

The final Truck Series practice is set to run from 3-3:55 p.m. ET this afternoon on Fox Sports 1.

Click here for the practice report.