Ron Hornaday Jr.

Doug Yates Twitter account

Robert Yates tribute car gifted to son, Roush Yates Engines

Leave a comment

A week before his father is inducted in the NASCAR Hall of Fame, Doug Yates and the employees at Roush Yates Engines received a special gift.

On Tuesday, Roush Fenway Racing presented them with the Robert Yates tribute car that Ricky Stenhouse Jr. drove at Phoenix Raceway last November. The No. 17 Ford was made to look like the No. 28 Havoline Ford that Davey Allison drove for Robert Yates Racing in the early 90s.

Stenhouse finished eighth in the race.

Robert Yates, who won three Daytona 500 and the 1999 Cup title as a car owner, died on Oct. 2 at 74 after a year-long battle with liver cancer. He will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Friday (8 p.m. ET on NBCSN).

Yates and Jack Roush founded Roush Yates Engines in 2003. The company provides engines for Ford teams across all three of NASCAR’s national series.

Yates will be inducted into the Hall of Fame with Ray Evernham, Red Byron, Ron Hornaday Jr. and Ken Squier.

 and on Facebook

Kyle Busch Motorsports reveals what five Truck races Busch will run in 2018

Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Kyle Busch will run in the Camping World Truck Series races at Atlanta (Feb. 24), Las Vegas (March 2), Kansas (May 11), Charlotte (May 18) and Pocono (July 28), Kyle Busch Motorsports announced Thursday. Textron Aviation will sponsor Busch.

He’ll run at Atlanta and Kansas in the No. 4 Truck and the other three races in the No. 51.

NASCAR rules limit drivers with more than five years Cup experience to a maximum five Truck races this season (down from seven last year).

Busch enters the season second on the Truck career victory list with 49. Ron Hornaday Jr., who will be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame on Jan. 19, is the series’ all-time leader with 51 victories.

Busch won three of his seven series starts last year. He has finished first or second in 73 of his 140 career Truck starts (52.1 percent)

 and on Facebook

Doug Richert leaves BK Racing after seven seasons as crew chief, R&D director

Getty Images
1 Comment

After seven seasons with BK Racing as a crew chief and Director of Research and Development, Doug Richert has left the organization.

Richert’s wife, Robin, made the announcement on Facebook. Neither Richert, 57, nor his wife said what he would do next.

Richert, was crew chief for 21 races in 2017 for a rotating group of drivers that included Joey Gase, Gray Gaulding, Corey LaJoie, Stephen Leicht, Brett Moffitt and Ryan Sieg.

Richert first came to NASCAR in 1977 as a then-17-year-old. Three years later in 1980, at 20 years old, he served as crew chief for Dale Earnhardt’s first of what would eventually become a record-tying (along with Richard Petty and Jimmie Johnson) seven NASCAR Cup championships.

Richert also led Greg Biffle to a runner-up crown to Tony Stewart in the 2005 NASCAR Cup championship.

On the NASCAR Cup level, Richert has served as crew chief for 560 races, being part of 13 wins, 66 top-5s, 119 top-10s and 5 poles. Three wins were with Earnhardt, while 10 were with Biffle.

Richert also spent 46 races as a crew chief in the Xfinity Series with one win (Biffle), six top-5s, 15 top-10s and 1 pole

He also spent 64 races in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series as a crew chief, being part of 12 wins (8 with Ron Hornaday Jr., 3 with Carl Edwards and 1 with Mike Skinner), 35 top-5s, 45 top-10s and 7 poles.

During his NASCAR career, Richert worked for a number of team owners including Rod Osterlund, Richard Childress, Jack Roush, Dale Earnhardt, Robert Yates, Joe Gibbs and Junior Johnson.

2018 NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony to be held Jan. 19

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The NASCAR Hall of Fame will induct its 2018 Class on Jan. 19 at the Crown Ballroom at the Charlotte Convention Center. Tickets are on sale now.

The 2018 Class includes:

  • Red Byron won NASCAR’s first race in 1948 on the Daytona Beach Road Course. He went on in 1948 to win NASCAR’s first season championship—in the NASCAR Modified Division. The following year, he won NASCAR’s first Strictly Stock Division title—the precursor to today’s Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series—driving for NASCAR Hall of Fame car owner Raymond Parks.
  • Ray Evernham guided Jeff Gordon and the No. 24 team to three championships in four seasons (1995, ’97 and ’98) and a series-leading 47 wins in the 1990s. Among their triumphs were two Daytona 500s (1997 and ’99) and two Brickyard 400s (1994 and ’98).
  • Ron Hornaday Jr. boasts a record four championships and 51 wins in what is today the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Hornaday also holds the Truck Series record for top fives (158) and top 10s (234).
  • Ken Squier co-founded the Motor Racing Network in 1970. He called the 1979 Daytona 500 on CBS, a milestone moment for the entire sport, as his voice welcomed millions to the first live flag-to-flag coverage of “The Great American Race”—a moniker he coined. He is the inaugural winner/namesake of the Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence.
  • Robert Yates won NASCAR premier series championships as both an engine builder and an owner. He provided the power behind NASCAR Hall of Famers Bobby Allison and Cale Yarborough, later leading Allison to a series championship in 1983 with DiGard Racing. In the late 1980s, Yates tried his hand at ownership, and success quickly followed to the tune of three Daytona 500s and the 1999 NASCAR premier series championship.

Tickets can be purchased at or by calling 1-800-745-3000.

Tonight’s Cup Series race at Darlington: Start time, weather, TV/radio info

Leave a comment

One of the most popular and anticipated races on the NASCAR Cup schedule takes place this evening in the Bojangles’ Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway.

The race caps off the third annual throwback weekend, with most teams and cars honoring drivers/teams from the 1980s/1990s. Martin Truex Jr. is the defending race winner. There have been 11 different winners in the last 11 races. Will it be 12-of-12 tonight?

Here are the details for today’s race:

(All times are Eastern):

START: 2018 NASCAR Hall of Fame inductees Ray Evernham, Robert Yates, Ron Hornaday Jr. and Ken Squier, along with Clifton Rutledge, Bojangles’ CEO will give the command to start engines at 6:07 p.m. Green flag is set for 6:15 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is scheduled for 367 laps (501.3 miles) around the 1.366-mile, egg-shaped oval.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 100. Stage 2 ends on Lap 200.

PRERACE SCHEDULE: The Cup garage opens at Noon. The driver/crew chief meeting is at 4 p.m. Driver introductions at 5:25 p.m.

NATIONAL ANTHEM: The Anthem will be performed by country music legends, The Oak Ridge Boys, at 6:01 p.m.

TV/RADIO: NBCSN will broadcast the race at 6 p.m. Coverage begins at 4 p.m. on NBCSN with NASCAR America, followed by Countdown to Green at 5:30 p.m. The Motor Racing Network radio broadcast begins at 5 p.m. SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the MRN broadcast.

FORECAST: The site predicts a temperature of 84 degrees and a nine percent chance of rain at race time.

LAST TIME: Kevin Harvick led the most laps (214 of 367), but it was Martin Truex Jr. who won. Harvick finished second, followed by Kyle Larson, Denny Hamlin and Joey Logano.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for starting lineup