Noah Gragson

Entry lists for Martinsville (updated)

Leave a comment

NASCAR visits a short track for the first time this season when it heads to Martinsville Speedway, the oldest track on the circuit.

The Cup Series is joined by the Camping World Truck Series, which has been off the last two weeks.

Here are the entry lists for both races.

Cup – STP 500

There are 38 cars entered.

Jeffrey Earnhardt is listed as driving StarCom Racing’s No. 00 Chevrolet, but the team announced Sunday it has parted ways with Earnhardt.

Landon Cassill will take his place this weekend and at Texas Motor Speedway.

D.J. Kennington is entered in his third race this season, driving Gaunt Brothers Racing’s No. 96 Toyota.

Ross Chastain is entered in Premium Motorsports’ No. 15 Chevrolet for the fifth time this season.

Harrison Rhodes is entered in Rick Ware Racing’s No. 51 Chevrolet. Rhodes has one start in the No. 51 at Atlanta.

JJ Yeley will drive Premium Motorsports’ N0. 55 Chevrolet. Reed Sorenson was originally listed as the driver.

Last year, Brad Keselowski won this race after leading 116 of 500 laps. He beat Kyle Busch and Chase Elliott. In the fall playoff race, Busch won over Martin Truex Jr. and Clint Bowyer.

Click here for the entry list.

Trucks – Alpha Energy Solutions 250

There are 36 trucks entered.

Todd Gilliland will make his first start of the season in Kyle Busch Motorsports’ No. 4 Toyota.

Kyle Benjamin is entered in DGR-Crosley’s No. 54 Toyota. It will be his first Truck start.

Timothy Peters will make his first start of the year driving Ricky Benton Racing’s No. 92 Ford. A former driver for the defunct Red Horse Racing, Peters’ last start was in the 2017 finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Last year, Chase Elliott won this race over Johnny Sauter and Christopher Bell. The fall playoff race was won by Noah Gragson over Matt Crafton and Sauter.

Click here for the entry list.

Race results, Truck Series point standings after Las Vegas

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Kyle Busch won Friday night’s Camping World Truck Series race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway for his 50th career win in the series.

Busch finished ahead of Johnny Sauter, Brett Moffitt, Grant Enfinger and Stewart Friesen.

Click here for race results

After his eighth consecutive top-three finish, Sauter left Las Vegas with a 39-point lead over Brett Moffitt.

Completing the top five in the standings are Enfinger (-40), Noah Gragson (-41) and Ben Rhodes (-45).

Click here for the point standings.

Kyle Busch wins Truck Series race at Las Vegas

Getty Images

Kyle Busch fended off charges from Johnny Sauter and Brett Moffitt in an 11-lap sprint to win Friday night’s Camping World Truck Series race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Busch’s win is his 50th in the Truck Series but the first at his home track. It came in his second Truck Series start at LVMS, his first there since 2001.

“It was really, really fast. I just felt like we were struggling in the long run,” Busch told FS1. “I was hoping somebody would get behind me, so we could just get away and duke it out, but that was kind of too short a run there in order to do that.”

Moffitt, who won last week at Atlanta, was leading with 26 to go when he made contact with Michel Disdier‘s lapped truck that occupied much in the track’s low lane, allowing Busch to take the lead. After pit stops, Busch kept the lead.

Disdier then spun to bring out the caution with 16 to go.

Busch is competing in all three NASCAR races this weekend at LVMS.

The top five was Busch, Sauter, Moffitt, Grant Enfinger and Stewart Friesen.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Noah Gragson led a 1-2-3 finish for Kyle Busch Motorsports.

STAGE 2 WINNER: Stewart Friesen scored the second stage win of his career.

MORE: Race results, point standings

WHO HAD A GOOD DAY: Stewart Friesen finished fifth after leading 31 laps in Stage 2, a career-best outside of Eldora Speedway (where he led 93 laps in 2017). … Brett Moffitt’s third-place finish is the first time Hattori Racing Enterprises had placed in the top three in consecutive races. …  In his first Truck race since 2016, Justin Marks finished 11th after spinning on Lap 15.

WHO HAD A BAD DAY: John Hunter Nemechek finished 21st after losing his right-front tire on a Lap 21 restart sequence. … After pitting following the first stage break, Matt Crafton wen to the garage for a brake problem. He finished 29th. … Justin Haley wrecked with 63 laps to go after getting loose between two trucks and then making contact with Myatt Snider. He finished 28th.

NOTABLE: Johnny Sauter has finished in the top three in the last eight races. … Kyle Busch is one win away from tying Ron Hornaday Jr. for most career wins in the Truck Series.

QUOTE OF THE NIGHT: “These lapped trucks are out here trying to make a living too. I get it, but holy moly.” – Kyle Busch on how lapped traffic affected the race’s outcome.

WHAT’S NEXT: Alpha Energy Solutions 250 at Martinsville Speedway on March 24 at 2 p.m. ET on FS1.

Kyle Busch wins Truck Series pole at Las Vegas

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Kyle Busch won the pole for tonight’s Camping World Truck Series race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Busch, a native of Las Vegas who is competing in all three NASCAR races this weekend, is making his first Truck Series start at LVMS since 2001.

Busch claimed the pole with a speed of 176.615 mph.

Completing the top five are Stewart Friesen (176.488), Johnny Sauter (176.010), Spencer Davis (175.924) and Noah Gragson (175.684).

The pole is Busch’s 20th in the Truck Series.

Click here for qualifying results.

Truck Series practice report from Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Johnny Sauter was fastest in the last of two Camping World Truck Series practice sessions Thursday at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

The winner of last month’s Daytona race topped the session with a speed of 179.319 mph.

He was followed by Brett Moffitt (179.081), Noah Gragson (178.903), Stewart Friesen (178.678) and Kyle Busch (178.483).

Moffitt was second fastest in both sessions.

Busch recorded the most laps with 40.

Sauter had the best 10-lap average at 176.905 mph.

First practice

Justin Marks was fastest,  posting a top speed of 178.141 mph around the 1.5-mile track.

Marks is making his first Truck Series start since 2016.

He was followed by Atlanta winner Brett Moffitt (178.118), Noah Gragson (177.954), Johnny Sauter (177.942) and Kyle Busch (177.672).

Gragson led the session in laps led with 31.

Ben Rhodes had the best 10-lap average at 175.189 mph.

The second practice session is scheduled for 7:05 – 7:55 p.m. ET.

Speed Chart for Practice No. 1

Speed Chart for Practice No. 2