Ford looks to continue 2017 success as well as at Las Vegas

Leave a comment

This weekend’s racing action at Las Vegas Motor Speedway could be pivotal for Ford in both the NASCAR Cup and Xfinity series.

In the NASCAR Cup ranks, Ford will be going for its third consecutive win to start a season for the first time since 1992, when it won the first nine races of the season.

Davey Allison won the 1992 Daytona 500, and then NASCAR Hall of Famer Bill Elliott would win the next four races.


Davey Allison, Daytona International Speedway (Feb. 16)

Bill Elliott, North Carolina Motor Speedway (Mar. 1)

Bill Elliott, Richmond International Raceway (Mar. 8)

Bill Elliott, Atlanta Motor Speedway (Mar. 15)

Bill Elliott, Darlington Raceway (Mar. 29)

Alan Kulwicki, Bristol Motor Speedway (Apr. 5)

Davey Allison, North Wilkesboro Speedway (Apr. 12)

Mark Martin, Martinsville Speedway (Apr. 26)

Davey Allison, Talladega Superspeedway (May 3)

Las Vegas native Kurt Busch earned the first win with Ford power for Stewart-Haas Racing when he won this year’s season-opening Daytona 500. Brad Keselowski put the blue oval back in victory lane one week later when he won at Atlanta.

That marks the first time since 2009 that Fords have won the first two races in NASCAR’s premier series to start a season (Matt Kenseth won at Daytona and Fontana that year for Roush Fenway Racing).

Keselowski will not only be looking for his second consecutive Cup win this season at Las Vegas, he’ll also be looking for his second straight triumph and third in the last four Cup races at the 1.5-mile LVMS oval (2014 and 2016).

Keselowski also swept the 2014 Las Vegas weekend, winning both the Cup and Xfinity races there.

Also of note, Ford is the most successful manufacturer at LVMS, with nine wins in 19 Cup races there. It’s the second-most successful in the Xfinity Series there, with eight wins in 20 races (Chevrolet has the most Xfinity wins with 10).


1998 – Mark Martin

1999 – Jeff Burton

2000 – Jeff Burton

2003 – Matt Kenseth

2004 – Matt Kenseth

2008 – Carl Edwards

2011 – Carl Edwards

2014 – Brad Keselowski

2016 – Brad Keselowski


1999 – Mark Martin

2000 – Jeff Burton

2002 – Jeff Burton

2005 – Mark Martin

2009 – Greg Biffle

2012 – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

2013 – Sam Hornish Jr.

2014 – Brad Keselowski

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Justin Allgaier wins pole for Charlotte Xfinity race

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Justin Allgaier won the pole for the Xfinity Series’ Hisense 4K TV 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

With a speed of 182.488 mph, Allgaier earned his fifth Xfinity pole and his first since the March 2013 race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Allgaier is joined on the front row by Austin Dillon (181.519).

The top five is completed by Ryan Blaney (181.378), Daniel Hemric (181.324) and Kevin Harvick (181.245).

Christopher Bell will start seventh in his first Xfinity race.

Brad Keselowski and Dakoda Armstrong will start from the rear after not passing inspection in time to qualify.

Click here for full qualifying results.

Ryan Blaney leads second Coke 600 practice

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Ryan Blaney posted the top speed in the second practice session for the Coca-Cola 600.

Blaney’s No. 21 Ford produced a speed of 188.055 mph Saturday morning around Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The top five was filled out by Erik Jones (187.598 mph), Martin Truex Jr. (187.084), Daniel Suarez (186.838) and Trevor Bayne (186.239).

Pole-sitter Kevin Harvick was ninth fastest at 185.567 mph. Dale Earnhardt Jr. was 14th quickest at 185.141 mph.

Kyle Bush recorded the most laps in the session with 48.

Click here for the full practice report.

Eight teams lose 15 minutes of Coke 600 practice for failing pre-qualifying inspection

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Eight Cup teams will be held 15 minutes during Coca-Cola 600 practice today for failing pre-qualifying inspection on Thursday

Drivers include Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Paul Menard, David Ragan, Kurt Busch, Kyle Larson, Corey LaJoie and Chris Buescher.

Buescher’s team also loses pit selection for Sunday’s race due to failing pre-qualifying inspection three ties.

Larson and LaJoie’s loss of practice time comes on top of them not making qualifying runs on Thursday after neither of their cars passed inspection in time.


NASCAR America: How much risk should drivers take in the Coca-Cola 600?

Leave a comment

As in many things in life, whether something is worth doing comes down to risk vs. reward.

Such will be the case in Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. How much are drivers willing to risk? Will that risk be worth reward, particularly with the additional stage to the race?

On Friday’s NASCAR America, Parker Kligerman jumped into the iRacing simulator and showed the greatest strategies to employ in Sunday’s race, especially with the traction compound up top.

Check out the above video.