Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

Who is NASCAR’s best in the last 100 Cup races?

1 Comment

One hundred Cup races is nearly three seasons. That’s a good way to look at how drivers and teams perform with driver contracts often lasting three years.

The numbers over the last 100 Cup races can prove interesting. Among some of the takeaways:

  • Jimmie Johnson has 14 wins but only 33 top-five finishes. That means 42.4 percent of his top-five finishes are wins.
  • Both Joey Logano and Kevin Harvick have 72 top-10 finishes in their last 100 races, meaning they have scored top 10s in 72 percent of these races. Harvick led the way with 52 top-five finishes, thus he’s averaging a top-five finish in more than 50 percent of his starts in the last 100 races.
  • Kyle Busch‘s numbers are a bit lower than some because he missed the first 11 races of the 2015 season after his injury at Daytona in the season-opening Xfinity race. Still, he ranks toward the top in wins, top-five and top-10 finishes during this stretch.
  • Brad Keselowski and Logano rank in the top three in wins, top fives, top 10s and poles in the last 100 races, showing the strength of Team Penske over this period.

Here’s a look at the numbers in the last 100 Cup races among active drivers. (Only drivers who have Cup confirmed rides for the 2017 season are included).


14 — Jimmie Johnson

13 — Joey Logano

10 — Kevin Harvick

10 — Brad Keselowski

  9 — Kyle Busch

  7 — Matt Kenseth

  6 — Dale Earnhardt Jr.

  6 — Denny Hamlin

  5 — Martin Truex Jr.

  3 — Kurt Busch

  1 — AJ Allmendinger

  1 — Aric Almirola

  1 — Chris Buescher

  1 — Kasey Kahne

  1 — Kyle Larson


52 — Kevin Harvick

50 — Joey Logano

39 — Brad Keselowski

36 — Kyle Busch

33 — Jimmie Johnson

31 — Denny Hamlin

31 — Matt Kenseth

28 — Dale Earnhardt Jr.

23 — Kurt Busch

18 — Kyle Larson

17 — Martin Truex Jr.

13 — Jamie McMurray


72 — Kevin Harvick

72 — Joey Logano

64 — Brad Keselowski

58 — Denny Hamlin

55 — Matt Kenseth

53 — Jimmie Johnson

52 — Kyle Busch

51 — Kurt Busch

44 — Martin Truex Jr.

43 — Dale Earnhardt Jr.

38 — Kyle Larson

38 — Ryan Newman

33 — Jamie McMurray

32 — Kasey Kahne

28 — Clint Bowyer


10 — Kevin Harvick

  9 — Joey Logano

  8 — Brad Keselowski

  6 — Denny Hamlin

  6 — Matt Kenseth

  5 — Kyle Busch

  5 — Kurt Busch

  5 — Martin Truex Jr.

  2 — AJ Allmendinger

  2 — Austin Dillon

  2 — Chase Elliott

  2 — Jimmie Johnson

  2 — Jamie McMurray


14 — David Ragan

12 — Aric Almirola

12 — Landon Cassill

11 — AJ Allmendinger

11 — Kyle Busch

10 — Matt DiBenedetto

10 — Matt Kenseth

10 — Kyle Larson

10 — Danica Patrick

10 — Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

  9 — Trevor Bayne

  9 — Jimmie Johnson

  9 — Kasey Kahne

  9 — Paul Menard

BRANDT returns for third year with JR Motorsports in Xfinity Series

Getty Images
Leave a comment

BRANDT Professional Agriculture will return as a sponsor for JR Motorsports in the Xfinity Series, the team announced Wednesday.

The company will be a primary sponsor of Justin Allgaier‘s No. 7 Chevrolet in 19 races and an associate sponsor of Allgaier and his three teammates the rest of the season.

Brandt has sponsored Allgaier for eight years, including the last three with JR Motorsports.

Allgaier is a native of Riverton, Illinois, which is 15 miles from Springfield, Illinois, where the company is headquartered.

JR Motorsports

Allgaier, 31, is coming off his second season that ended with him in the Championship 4. He earned two wins, 10 top five and 17 top-10 finishes. He also led a series-high 495 laps among Xfinity regulars.

He will be teammates with Elliott Sadler, Tyler Reddick and Michael Annett this year.

The Xfinity season begins Feb. 17 at Daytona International Speedway.

 and on Facebook

NASCAR revamps Rookie of the Year points system in national series

Getty Images
Leave a comment

NASCAR has changed how it determines the Rookie of the Year in all three national series, it announced Thursday.

The new system, which will debut in a month at Daytona International Speedway, reflects the points system that decides the champion in each series, including the stage format in races.

A race win will earn a rookie candidate 40 points and five playoff points. A second-place finish will is worth 35 points and a third-place finish is 34 points, etc.

A rookie candidate who wins a stage will earn 10 points and one playoff point.

“The focus on our rising stars has never been stronger and simplifying the Sunoco Rookie of the Year system made perfect sense,” said Jim Cassidy, NASCAR’s senior vice president of racing operations in a press release. “Our fans track closely the progress of our young drivers and matching the Sunoco Rookie of the Year points structure with the championship points will help them follow this prestigious program and award more closely than ever before.”

Erik Jones was Rookie of the Year in the Cup Series last year. William Byron won the honor in the Xfinity Series and Chase Briscoe won it in the Camping World Truck Series.

 and on Facebook

Watkins Glen, Michigan announce multi-year sponsor deals

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Watkins Glen International and Michigan International Speedway announced multi-year sponsorship deals for their Cup Series races Thursday.

WGI announced the Aug. 5 race at the road course will be sponsored by The 90-lap race will be called “Go Bowling at the Glen.”

This is not the first time the bowling brand has sponsored a Cup event. It sponsored the spring race at Kansas Speedway from 2016-17 and the August event at Pocono Raceway from 2013-14.

As part of the deal, Go Bowling will have two bowling lanes at the track for the race weekend.

Michigan has renewed its sponsorship deal with FireKeepers Casino Hotel for its June Cup race for “many years.”

The hotel in Battle Creek, Michigan, began its relationship with MIS by sponsoring pole day in 2014. It began sponsoring the June race in 2016.

TheFireKeepers Casino 400 is scheduled for June 10.

ISM Raceway (Phoenix) also announced the title sponsor for its March 11 Cup race.

The event will called the TicketGuardian 500.

TicketGuardian is a mobile ticketing insurance provider. When fans purchase tickets to events at ISM Raceway, they will be given the option to add TicketGuardian’s ticket protection coverage. This allows fans to have insurance on the tickets they’ve purchased in advance.

 and on Facebook

Hendrick, Kelley Blue Book extend relationship through 2020

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Hendrick Motorsports and Kelley Blue Book have extended their sponsorship deal three years through 2020, the team announced Thursday.

The car pricing, research and valuation guide will be a primary sponsor on Chase Elliott‘s N0. 9 Chevrolet in two races each year.

This season it will be on the No. 9 for the Aug. 18 race at Bristol Motor Speedway and the November playoff race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Kelley Blue Book has been partnered with Hendrick since 2014 when it had a one-race deal to sponsor Dale Earnhardt Jr.

It went to a two-race deal beginning in 2016.

MORE: Driving the No. 9 feels like going home for Chase Elliott

 and on Facebook