Jerry Markland/Getty Images

The 2016 Sprint Cup Series season in numbers

Leave a comment

The 2016 Sprint Cup Series season started with the closest finish in the history of the Daytona 500 and ended with Jimmie Johnson winning a historic seventh championship.

In-between the series saw two drivers, Chris Buescher and Kyle Larson, earn their first career wins. Chase Elliott inherited the No. 24 and earned Rookie of the Year honors for Hendrick Motorsports. Tony Stewart went from missing the first eight races of the season to winning at Sonoma Raceway and qualifying for the Chase in his final season.

From a statistical standpoint, here is what the season looked like:

0 – Laps led by Kasey Kahne and Jamie McMurray, both of whom finished in the top 20 in points

2 – Last lap passes (Denny Hamlin in the Daytona 500; Carl Edwards at Richmond)

3 – Weekend sweeps for Kyle Busch (Martinsville, Texas, Indianapolis)

5 – Wins by Jimmie Johnson, which led the series

6 – Poles by Carl Edwards, which led the series

8 – Races run by Jeff Gordon

9.3 – Average running position by Kyle Busch, which led the series

9.9 – Average finish for Kevin Harvick, a series best

16 – Wins by Toyota drivers

18 – Races missed by Dale Earnhardt Jr. after suffering a concussion

80 – Career wins reached for Jimmie Johnson

85 – Points earned by Denny Hamlin at road courses, a series best

92.92 – Percentage of laps run in the top 15 by Brad Keselowski, a series best

106.5 – Driver rating by Kevin Harvick, a series best

198 – Points earned by Kevin Harvick on short-tracks, a series best

815 – Points earned by Kevin Harvick on superspeedways, a series best

1,809 РLaps led by Martin Truex Jr., a series best

2,230 – Miles led by Martin Truex Jr., a series best

5,592 – Laps led by Toyota drivers

10,355 – Laps completed by Kasey Kahne, most in the series

Kyle Larson fastest in final practice for Coca-Cola 600

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Kyle Larson topped the final practice session for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 with a speed at 186.400 mph.

The Cup points leader, Larson will start 39th in the race because his No. 42 Chevrolet didn’t clear inspection in time to qualify.

Ryan Blaney (185.861), Matt Kenseth (185.046), Kurt Busch (184.856) and Erik Jones (184.818) rounded out the top five.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. was seventh fastest at 184.433 mph. Pole-sitter Kevin Harvick was 20th fastest at 182.648 mph.

Jimmie Johnson recorded the most laps in the session with 47.

Jamie McMurray had the best 10-lap average at 180.914 mph.

The session was stopped for a caution once after Brad Keselowski spun exiting Turn 4.

Click here for the full practice report.

Justin Allgaier wins pole for Charlotte Xfinity race

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Justin Allgaier won the pole for the Xfinity Series’ Hisense 4K TV 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

With a speed at 182.488 mph, Allgaier earned his fifth Xfinity pole and his first since the March 2013 race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Allgaier is joined on the front row by Austin Dillon (181.519).

The top five was completed by Ryan Blaney (181.378), Daniel Hemric (181.324) and Kevin Harvick (181.245).

Christopher Bell will start seventh in his first Xfinity race.

Brad Keselowski and Dakoda Armstrong will start from the rear after not passing inspection in time to qualify.

Click here for full qualifying results.

Ryan Blaney leads second Coke 600 practice

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Ryan Blaney posted the top speed in the second practice session for the Coca-Cola 600.

Blaney’s No. 21 Ford produced a speed of 188.055 mph Saturday morning around Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The top five was filled out by Erik Jones (187.598 mph), Martin Truex Jr. (187.084), Daniel Suarez (186.838) and Trevor Bayne (186.239).

Pole-sitter Kevin Harvick was ninth fastest at 185.567 mph. Dale Earnhardt Jr. was 14th quickest at 185.141 mph.

Kyle Busch recorded the most laps in the session with 48.

Click here for the full practice report.

Eight teams lose 15 minutes of Coke 600 practice for failing pre-qualifying inspection

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Eight Cup teams were held 15 minutes during Coca-Cola 600 practice today for failing pre-qualifying inspection on Thursday

Drivers include Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Paul Menard, David Ragan, Kurt Busch, Kyle Larson, Corey LaJoie and Chris Buescher.

Buescher’s team also loses pit selection for Sunday’s race because it failed inspection three times.

Larson and LaJoie’s loss of practice time comes after neither qualified Thuraday because their cars didn’t clear inspection in time.