Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images

JR Motorsports loses appeal of Texas penalty

Leave a comment

The National Motorsports Appeals Panel upheld the penalty to the No. 88 JR Motorsports team for failing inspection after Saturday’s Xfnity Series race at Texas Motor Speedway. NASCAR found the car to be too low.

Crew chief Dave Elenz was fined $10,000 and the team docked 10 owner points.

The penalty drops the No. 88 car to 10 points out of the cutoff spot for the championship round in the owners Chase.

The has decided not to appeal the decision to the National Motorsports Final Appeals Officer.

Here is the report from the National Motorsports Appeals Panel:

The National Motorsports Appeals Panel today heard and considered an expedited appeal of a P2 level penalty issued on Nov. 8 to David Elenz (crew chief) and Rick Hendrick (owner), relative to the No. 88 NASCAR Xfinity Series team at Texas Motor Speedway. 

 The penalty concerns the following sections in the 2016 NASCAR Rule Book: Sections 12.1;

The original penalty assessed: Elenz was fined $10,000; Hendrick was assessed with the loss of 10 NASCAR XFINITY Series championship car owner points.

Upon hearing the testimony, the decisions of the National Motorsports Appeals Panel are:

  • The Appellants violated the Rules set forth in the Penalty Notices.
  • The Panel affirms and upholds the original Penalties assessed by NASCAR.

The panel consisted of the following three individuals:

-Mr. Dale Pinilis

-Mr. Lake Speed

-Mr. Kevin Whitaker 

Kyle Larson fastest in final practice for Coca-Cola 600

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Kyle Larson topped the final practice session for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 with a speed at 186.400 mph.

The Cup points leader, Larson will start 39th in the race because his No. 42 Chevrolet didn’t clear inspection in time to qualify.

Ryan Blaney (185.861), Matt Kenseth (185.046), Kurt Busch (184.856) and Erik Jones (184.818) rounded out the top five.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. was seventh fastest at 184.433 mph. Pole-sitter Kevin Harvick was 20th fastest at 182.648 mph.

Jimmie Johnson recorded the most laps in the session with 47.

Jamie McMurray had the best 10-lap average at 180.914 mph.

The session was stopped for a caution once after Brad Keselowski spun exiting Turn 4.

Click here for the full practice report.

Justin Allgaier wins pole for Charlotte Xfinity race

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Justin Allgaier won the pole for the Xfinity Series’ Hisense 4K TV 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

With a speed at 182.488 mph, Allgaier earned his fifth Xfinity pole and his first since the March 2013 race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Allgaier is joined on the front row by Austin Dillon (181.519).

The top five was completed by Ryan Blaney (181.378), Daniel Hemric (181.324) and Kevin Harvick (181.245).

Christopher Bell will start seventh in his first Xfinity race.

Brad Keselowski and Dakoda Armstrong will start from the rear after not passing inspection in time to qualify.

Click here for full qualifying results.

Ryan Blaney leads second Coke 600 practice

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Ryan Blaney posted the top speed in the second practice session for the Coca-Cola 600.

Blaney’s No. 21 Ford produced a speed of 188.055 mph Saturday morning around Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The top five was filled out by Erik Jones (187.598 mph), Martin Truex Jr. (187.084), Daniel Suarez (186.838) and Trevor Bayne (186.239).

Pole-sitter Kevin Harvick was ninth fastest at 185.567 mph. Dale Earnhardt Jr. was 14th quickest at 185.141 mph.

Kyle Busch recorded the most laps in the session with 48.

Click here for the full practice report.

Eight teams lose 15 minutes of Coke 600 practice for failing pre-qualifying inspection

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Eight Cup teams were held 15 minutes during Coca-Cola 600 practice today for failing pre-qualifying inspection on Thursday

Drivers include Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Paul Menard, David Ragan, Kurt Busch, Kyle Larson, Corey LaJoie and Chris Buescher.

Buescher’s team also loses pit selection for Sunday’s race because it failed inspection three times.

Larson and LaJoie’s loss of practice time comes after neither qualified Thuraday because their cars didn’t clear inspection in time.