Kyle Busch involved in early crash in practice at Texas

Leave a comment

FORT WORTH, Texas – Chase driver Kyle Busch will go to a backup car after being involved in an early practice crash at Texas Motor Speedway.

Busch, one of the eight drivers left in the Chase, got loose exiting Turn 4 and pancaked the front stretch wall about six minutes into the first practice session for the AAA Texas 500.

Busch had not yet completed a lap when the accident occurred.

“I don’t think I’ve ever crashed on the first lap of getting out there on the track,” Busch said later. “We got into Turn 3 and the car felt great, loaded up really good, got back into the throttle and then got into the bumps that are over in (Turns) 3 and 4. Felt like it bottomed out a little bit and got me up the track and then from there the whole car came out of the track and I got loose and couldn’t it checked up or slowed down in time before it slapped the wall.”

The primary car was a new one built specifically for this weekend. All four Joe Gibbs Racing teams have new cars this weekend.

Busch returned to the track in his backup car about an hour into the session and finished with the 22nd-best speed.

“We rolled it right off the truck and it was really, really close,” Busch said. “We of course changed the primary springs from the primary car because it’s the exact rates the guys are looking for and stuff like that … As far as everything else, the control arms, the suspension, the way the rear end sits in the car, everything like that it’s all mocked up exactly the same as the primary car.”

Entering the second race of the Round of 8, Busch is fourth on the Chase grid, four points above fifth.

Kyle Larson fastest in final practice for Coca-Cola 600

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Kyle Larson topped the final practice session for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 with a speed at 186.400 mph.

The Cup points leader, Larson will start 39th in the race because his No. 42 Chevrolet didn’t clear inspection in time to qualify.

Ryan Blaney (185.861), Matt Kenseth (185.046), Kurt Busch (184.856) and Erik Jones (184.818) rounded out the top five.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. was seventh fastest at 184.433 mph. Pole-sitter Kevin Harvick was 20th fastest at 182.648 mph.

Jimmie Johnson recorded the most laps in the session with 47.

Jamie McMurray had the best 10-lap average at 180.914 mph.

The session was stopped for a caution once after Brad Keselowski spun exiting Turn 4.

Click here for the full practice report.

Justin Allgaier wins pole for Charlotte Xfinity race

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Justin Allgaier won the pole for the Xfinity Series’ Hisense 4K TV 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

With a speed at 182.488 mph, Allgaier earned his fifth Xfinity pole and his first since the March 2013 race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Allgaier is joined on the front row by Austin Dillon (181.519).

The top five was completed by Ryan Blaney (181.378), Daniel Hemric (181.324) and Kevin Harvick (181.245).

Christopher Bell will start seventh in his first Xfinity race.

Brad Keselowski and Dakoda Armstrong will start from the rear after not passing inspection in time to qualify.

Click here for full qualifying results.

Ryan Blaney leads second Coke 600 practice

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Ryan Blaney posted the top speed in the second practice session for the Coca-Cola 600.

Blaney’s No. 21 Ford produced a speed of 188.055 mph Saturday morning around Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The top five was filled out by Erik Jones (187.598 mph), Martin Truex Jr. (187.084), Daniel Suarez (186.838) and Trevor Bayne (186.239).

Pole-sitter Kevin Harvick was ninth fastest at 185.567 mph. Dale Earnhardt Jr. was 14th quickest at 185.141 mph.

Kyle Busch recorded the most laps in the session with 48.

Click here for the full practice report.

Eight teams lose 15 minutes of Coke 600 practice for failing pre-qualifying inspection

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Eight Cup teams were held 15 minutes during Coca-Cola 600 practice today for failing pre-qualifying inspection on Thursday

Drivers include Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Paul Menard, David Ragan, Kurt Busch, Kyle Larson, Corey LaJoie and Chris Buescher.

Buescher’s team also loses pit selection for Sunday’s race because it failed inspection three times.

Larson and LaJoie’s loss of practice time comes after neither qualified Thuraday because their cars didn’t clear inspection in time.